Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: "Could not initialize AMWorkflowPrm.dll" error after installing patch 8.0.9.0 (#3629)
Topic Summary: applied 8.0.9.0 patch to AutoMate Premium 8.0.1.0
Created On: 02/27/2012 09:16 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/27/2012 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeffScofield
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/03/2009

Following the install of the 8.0.9.0 AutoMate patch to our AutoMate Premium production server running 8.0.1.0 we are receiving the following error:
Step number: 1 Time of error: 2/26/2012 8:00:10 AM Error message: A problem occurred while initializing the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter: Could not initialize AMWorkflowPrm.dll.  AutoMate may need to be reinstalled to correct this. (HR: 0x800703fa) Computer name:
 
The error messages occurr at  random times and random tasks are affected.

 Category Survey


Edited: 02/29/2012 at 01:13 PM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 02/27/2012 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Jeff,

Does the following scenario describe your setup?

You logged in as user "A" yet your tasks in question are set to run as user "B" in the background?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 02/27/2012 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeffScofield
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/03/2009

Hello Ricardo,

 

This particular scenario you lay out is not how any of our tasks are setup as. We set all tasks to run as the "System defined" user regarless of the scenario; "When workstation is logged on:" , "When workstation is logged off:" or "When workstation is locked":.

 

Nothing has changed in the way our tasks were setup prior to this patch 8.0.9.0 was installed.



 Category Survey
 02/27/2012 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Jeff,

Can you please confirm what Operating System you are running?

Was AutoMate 9 ever installed on this machine?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 02/27/2012 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeffScofield
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/03/2009

Windows Server 2008 r2 Standard sp1 x64. AutoMate 9 was never installed in any of our AutoMate servers.

 



 Category Survey
 02/27/2012 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Jeff,

I haven't had any luck reproducing your issue. What is the state of the machine when the issue does occur? Is there any information you can provide that will helps us reproduce this issue internally?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 02/28/2012 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeffScofield
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/03/2009

The error occurs at random times of the day. Over the weekend we had approximetly 5 tasks that failed (scheduled task or file watcher) that produced the error, the file watchers task failed the most.

Yesterday we added the custom polling interval to 60 seconds for UNC shares; which was not set previously, and that seems to have cut down the number of errors since but are still being produced.

The next step was to turn the file watcher into a scheduled task and just run every 5 minutes.



 Category Survey
 02/28/2012 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeffScofield
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/03/2009

Not sure if it will help, attaching AML file for one of the task that produces the error.



 Category Survey



 02/29/2012 01:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jeff,

We are still looking into the issue on our end. Because it is intermittent, it is hard to track down. I recommend, as you have already determined, that you switch your tasks to a schedule trigger to ensure that no files are missed until we have resolved the issue.





 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 03/04/2012 01:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ISOperations
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 36
Joined: 05/04/2009

We upgraded from 8.0.1.402 to 8.0.6.1.  We stopped the services, uninstalled from control panel and then reinstalled the new version.  Tasks were running smooth and we have a user that runs all of our tasks called svcAutomate.  I made sure I installed it as admin mode and all that.

It runs very smooth when svcAutomate is logged in and STAYS logged in.  But the minute I logoff the user I get these errors below on certain tasks.

**ps, we installed/re-installed many times with no resolution**.

 

Task name: Triggers - Every 1 Minute (Group 11) Step number: 1 Time of error: 3/4/2012 2:57:05 PM Error message: A problem occurred while initializing the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter: Could not initialize AMWorkflowPrm.dll.  AutoMate may need to be reinstalled to correct this. (HR: 0x80040154)



 

 

 

Task name: Triggers - Every 1 Minute (Group 12) Step number: 1 Time of error: 3/3/2012 1:40:28 AM Error message: Unknown step command "AMRUN"




 

 

Error message: A problem occurred while initializing the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter: Attempt to get interface to the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter has failed. (0x80040154)

 

 

Again, this only happens to these tasks when i logoff the box.  If I keep the user logged into the box they never have these errors come up.  Also this didn't happen before the upgrade.  Matter of fact, that is our workaround to keep the tasks running...but isn't the solution for us since we were able to log in and out of the box with any user before with no issues.

 

The weird thing is, it is often these errors come up for these specific tasks, but sometimes they don't.  Sometimes they work.  So very strange.  Any ideas? Submitting a ticket tomorrow as well.



 Category Survey
 03/05/2012 02:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

If your scenario matches the following (Below) the current workaround is to make the background user a Domain Admin.

You are logged in as User (A) and your tasks are set to run in the background as User (B).

Let us know if this helps you.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 03/07/2012 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ISOperations
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 36
Joined: 05/04/2009

Originally posted by: ISOperations We upgraded from 8.0.1.402 to 8.0.6.1.  We stopped the services, uninstalled from control panel and then reinstalled the new version.  Tasks were running smooth and we have a user that runs all of our tasks called svcAutomate.  I made sure I installed it as admin mode and all that.

It runs very smooth when svcAutomate is logged in and STAYS logged in.  But the minute I logoff the user I get these errors below on certain tasks.

**ps, we installed/re-installed many times with no resolution**.

 

Task name: Triggers - Every 1 Minute (Group 11) Step number: 1 Time of error: 3/4/2012 2:57:05 PM Error message: A problem occurred while initializing the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter: Could not initialize AMWorkflowPrm.dll.
  AutoMate may need to be reinstalled to correct this. (HR: 0x80040154)

 

 

 

Task name: Triggers - Every 1 Minute (Group 12) Step number: 1 Time of error: 3/3/2012 1:40:28 AM Error message: Unknown step command "AMRUN"

 

 

Error message: A problem occurred while initializing the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter: Attempt to get interface to the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter has failed. (0x80040154)

 

 

 

 

Again, this only happens to these tasks when i logoff the box.  If I keep the user logged into the box they never have these errors come up.  Also this didn't happen before the upgrade.  Matter of fact, that is our workaround to keep the tasks running...but isn't the solution for us since we were able to log in and out of the box with any user before with no issues.

 

 

 

The weird thing is, it is often these errors come up for these specific tasks, but sometimes they don't.  Sometimes they work.  So very strange.  Any ideas? Submitting a ticket tomorrow as well.

 

 

Upgrading from 8.0.6.1 to 8.0.9.0 and applying hotfixambpa80901 (hot fix) seemed to solve this issue for us.  Thanks.

 

 

 

 

 

 



 Category Survey
 03/07/2012 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Where would I find the hotfix, and the release notes for the hotfix?  I can't find things very easily on the website, unfortunately, and I apologize for these simplistic questions because I know they aren't good use of the forum participant's time.  Thanks!



 Category Survey
 03/07/2012 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Becki,

Are you receiving error messages referencing amworkflowprm.dll?





 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 03/07/2012 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeffScofield
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/03/2009

We have found a work around following the install of the 8.0.9.0 patch by keeping our Domain user (not Domain Admin) account RDC session logged into server and not closing AutoMate. This was not a necessary step prior to the upgrade. I would be interested in seeing if AutoMate actually has a "Hotfix" for 8.0.9.0 that would fix this problem.



 Category Survey
 03/07/2012 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Jeff,

I have emailed you a link for the hotfix that is available for version 8.0.9. Please let us know your results.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 03/07/2012 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ISOperations
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 36
Joined: 05/04/2009

Originally posted by: JeffScofield We have found a work around following the install of the 8.0.9.0 patch by keeping our Domain user (not Domain Admin) account RDC session logged into server and not closing AutoMate. This was not a necessary step prior to the upgrade. I would be interested in seeing if AutoMate actually has a "Hotfix" for 8.0.9.0 that would fix this problem.

Jeff, that was the exact workaround we had.  That hotfix worked for us.



 Category Survey
 03/07/2012 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

We're on BPA Server 8.0.1.0.  We currently leave all of our machines logged on,  and have the SMC up but minimized on the server and the workstations. Since the Agent runs as a service, I don't know why we're doing that.  We've had some connectivity problems and I am planning on upgrading to 8.0.9.0.  I saw the post about this issue, and the workaround being to leave the machines logged on, which is what I'd like to get away from.  So before I do the 8.0.9.0 upgrade, I wanted to investigate whether I also needed to install the hotfix. 

Thanks much - Becki



 Category Survey
 03/07/2012 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeffScofield
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/03/2009

We still get the AMWorkflowPrm.dll after installing the "hotfix" provided by AutoMate support this morning. We have reverted back to leaving the Domain User logged in the server until another fix maybe found.



 Category Survey
 03/08/2012 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Originally posted by: BeckiBloch

We're on BPA Server 8.0.1.0.  We currently leave all of our machines logged on,  and have the SMC up but minimized on the server and the workstations. Since the Agent runs as a service, I don't know why we're doing that.  We've had some connectivity problems and I am planning on upgrading to 8.0.9.0.  I saw the post about this issue, and the workaround being to leave the machines logged on, which is what I'd like to get away from.  So before I do the 8.0.9.0 upgrade, I wanted to investigate whether I also needed to install the hotfix. 




Thanks much - Becki



Becki,

Connectivity problems between the agent and server is rectified in v8.0.9.0. The need for the amworkflowprm.dll hotfix is unrelated to your issues.




 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 03/08/2012 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Originally posted by: JeffScofield

We still get the AMWorkflowPrm.dll after installing the "hotfix" provided by AutoMate support this morning. We have reverted back to leaving the Domain User logged in the server until another fix maybe found.



Hi Jeff,

Thank you for sending over in the entire error that you are running into. We are currently investigating this issue. We will contact you once we have any information for you.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 03/13/2012 08:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Thank you for the clarification. I'll proceed with doing that update.

 Category Survey
 03/14/2012 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ISOperations
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 36
Joined: 05/04/2009

So the issues did come back but I did notice we had "User Profile Hive Cleanup Service" installed on the box. I did uninstall this to see if this resolved the logoff issue and seems to have fixed it.

I'm going to keep an eye on it for the next couple days but logged off and haven't seen any errors yet.

See if uninstalling that helps...

 Category Survey
 04/09/2012 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AnthonyWieczorek
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 15
Joined: 09/15/2010

I am getting this same error message on my system since upgrading to 8.0.9.0.
Can you send me that hotfix also?

Windows Server 2008
Automate Version 8.0.9.0

I have reinstalled many times.
I have a Service account that is used for the background specific user when needed. I only have certain jobs that are actually giving this error. It is very sparatic.

stacee sowle
stacee.sowle@micorp.com

 Category Survey
 04/09/2012 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Replied to Stacee via email.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 04/12/2012 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TXGump
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/05/2006

I have the same issue where I have to keep my session open on the server after upgrading to 8.0.9.0. I too receive the same message in the opening of this thread by Jeff. I would like to see if the hotfix works for me as well so I don't have to leave my server logged on as the service user for Automate.

Yes, I logged in as user A and Automate runs as user B in the background for all of my tasks. Only when I log into the server as User B will my triggers kick off automatically.

 Category Survey
 04/12/2012 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Please follow the instructions in the following KB article:

http://www.networkautomation.c...0703fa/4f8715fd8c93c/




 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/22/2013 05:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomas KVetter
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/26/2009

I'm still facing the error below which is very annoying even after installing the hotfix.

Would really appriciate a permanent fix which does work as soon as possible.


Windows Server 2008 r2 Standard sp1 x64
Automate 8.0.9.0 + hotfix 8.0.9.501 04/04/2012


Thanks for support.

Step number: 1
Time of error: 5/22/2013 10:38:12 AM
Error message: A problem occurred while initializing the AutoMate 8 Task Interpreter: Could not initialize AMWorkflowPrm.dll. AutoMate may need to be reinstalled to correct this. (HR: 0x800703fa)

 Category Survey
 05/23/2013 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Thomas,

We have corrected many issues regarding "Task Interpreter" in AutoMate 9. Would it be possible to install AutoMate 9 side by side with AutoMate 8. You can then migrate your information from AutoMate 8 to AutoMate 9.

Let us know if the issue persists after upgrading.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 06/06/2013 02:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wjvandijk
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 16
Joined: 04/06/2005

Hi Ricardo,

On behalf of Thomas (which is retired now).

The upgrade to version 9 did solve the issues.

Can you (NA) contact me to find a "customer friendly" way for upgrading the other 8 (and older) licenses we have as well.

Don't wan't to run into more unexpected behaviour and unexplained errors

thx,

WJ van Dijk



 Category Survey
 06/06/2013 09:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi wjvandijk,

I will have an Account Manager contact you as soon as possible.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 6686 on 11/01/2020 at 01:24 AM.
There are currently 1971 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1971 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog