Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need help with IF statement Simple equality test, if:
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/01/2017 02:45 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/01/2017 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RomelEdrada
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/27/2016

Hi Everyone,

 

Need help with an IF statement, it seems to be erroring out only on this step and can't figure out why.  What I'm trying to do is have automate connect to a db > run a select statement > if one of the columns in that statement has a value greater than 1 > send an email.

 

More in detail:

1. Establish a connection to db using connection string OK

2. Execute a SELECT statement and Create and populate dataset (Error_Report_Count) OK

3. IF Statement >

General > Condition > Simple equality test, if:

%Error_Report_Count.COLUMN4% NOT OK

 

The error it gives me is 

Expression evaluation failed: "A variable or function in the expression does not exist or is misspelled "

 

Any help or guidance on how to troubleshoot will be greatly appreciated!

 

Thank you!



 Category Survey
AutoMate 10 version: 10.5.0
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 12/04/2017 06:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Romel,

That error message means that the dataset.field that you are referencing is invalid. Is the column name truly column4?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 12/07/2017 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RonLee
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 18
Joined: 07/08/2008

What is the expected content of the column you're calling Column4?
OK/Not OK?
OK/Null/Blank?

It looks to me that your comparison needs to be
%Error_Report_Count.COLUMN4% <> "OK"
...or...
%Error_Report_Count.COLUMN4% = "NOT OK"
... or something like that.

You need a comparison symbol and either a numeric value or a string within quotes.


 Category Survey
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 6686 on 11/01/2020 at 01:24 AM.
There are currently 2175 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2175 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog