Network Automation Software
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Reorganize Sub-Task Parameters
Topic Summary: Change name and re-order sub-task parameters
Created On: 07/25/2018 07:46 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Reorganize Sub-Task Parameters   - PatrickMarshall - 07/25/2018 07:46 AM  
 Reorganize Sub-Task Parameters   - Alex Escalante - 08/01/2018 10:25 AM  
 Reorganize Sub-Task Parameters   - PatrickMarshall - 08/10/2018 11:31 AM  
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/25/2018 07:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PatrickMarshall
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 13
Joined: 06/14/2016

When defining a subtask, as development progresses I have found my parameter names may change, and the importance of them may change as well. I want to be able to re-order the parameters or change their names without needing to do one of the following:

1. delete them all and rebuild
2. play the shell game with the Optional setting to reorder
3. Exporting to a text file, manipulating it, then importing it

-------------------------
Automate 11 BPA Standard
Windows Server 2016
 08/01/2018 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello Patrick,

Is it possible to please elaborate on your request?

Is the functionality requested similar to constants where if you adjust the value in the constants menu, it will change everywhere where it is being used?

Please advise.

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/10/2018 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PatrickMarshall
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 13
Joined: 06/14/2016

When defining a function (subtask), the parameters are locked in order. As code develops, the list of parameters may change, necessitating a reordering. I have some functions with 8+ parameters defined. Initiating a reorder of these is time consuming by either deleting them and rebuilding them or flagging them to Optional and back.

See the attached screenshot.

Click for full image
Click for larger image



-------------------------
Automate 11 BPA Standard
Windows Server 2016
Statistics
18257 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 6686 on 11/01/2020 at 01:24 AM.
There are currently 601 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 601 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog