Network Automation Software
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: excel to dataset problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/29/2017 02:23 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/29/2017 02:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LuisSousa
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/26/2009

Good morning,

I am using automate to get information from excel. In order to do so I use the action that converts the excel to a dataset.
I am in Portugal and so the decimal separator in excel is the comma.
When trying to get a decimal number from an excel file the value obtained is not the intended.

Example: decimal number 1,5 in the data set will result in two columns ["1][5"].

I believe this also happens when using a dot as the decimal separator but i am not sure .

If anyone has a solution for this please help me.

Thank you.
 09/29/2017 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Luis,

Would it be possible to provide a sample task and excel sheet?

-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 09/29/2017 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LuisSousa
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/26/2009



Edited: 10/02/2017 at 06:20 AM by LuisSousa
 09/29/2017 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LuisSousa
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/26/2009

Here they are

excel_data.xlsx
excel_data.xlsx  (10 KB)
semple_task.aml
semple_task.aml  (3 KB)

 10/02/2017 06:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LuisSousa
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/26/2009

Here they are

excel_data.xlsx
excel_data.xlsx  (10 KB)
semple_task.aml
semple_task.aml  (3 KB)

 10/02/2017 06:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi LuisSousa,

We have verified this issue with both the Excel and OpenDocument actions. We have documented the issue and will correct it in a future release of the software as bugs 23265 for Excel and 23266 for OpenDocument.

-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 12/07/2017 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RicoLeenarts
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 31
Joined: 09/01/2015

Hi!

We just purchased Automate Enterprise 11 an are currently migrating hundreds of tasks from Automate 10. We are experiencing the same problem with reading Excel Files, which is a huge problem for us. Any number which has decimals is not usable in the dataset. Even worse: the columns are messed up when we use a comma for decimal (which is strandard in germany). So the Excel-Function is completely unusable!

So can you give a more clear answer if this bug will be corrected with the next version, and when this version will be released?

If a patch or hotfix is possible we would be glad to get it as this really is a serious problem for us.

 12/07/2017 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Originally posted by: RicoLeenarts

Hi!




We just purchased Automate Enterprise 11 an are currently migrating hundreds of tasks from Automate 10. We are experiencing the same problem with reading Excel Files, which is a huge problem for us. Any number which has decimals is not usable in the dataset. Even worse: the columns are messed up when we use a comma for decimal (which is strandard in germany). So the Excel-Function is completely unusable!




So can you give a more clear answer if this bug will be corrected with the next version, and when this version will be released?




If a patch or hotfix is possible we would be glad to get it as this really is a serious problem for us.



Hi Rico,

Both 23265 and 23266 have been corrected in the upcoming v11.0.2 release. We are hoping to release v11.0.2 within the next couple of weeks. I recommend holding off on the v10 migration until you are able to upgrade to v11.0.2. I apologize for the inconvenience.



-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 12/27/2017 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

We would like to inform you that AutoMate version 11.0.2.22 has been released.

Please review the patch notes for 11.0.2.22 here:
http://www.networkautomation.c...Automate-11/11.0.2/14/

-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 07/02/2018 04:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NazwanTaj
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/02/2018

Hi,

Can anyone please let me know how to read data directly from a dataset(of mails)
I wanted to read one cell in excel,but excel is restricting the length to 8221.how could i read the cell with length more than 8221.

It would be great if someone solves this ASAP
 07/05/2018 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello Nazwan,

May you please provide an example Excel sheet so we may test?

Are you testing with 11.0.6?

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 07/05/2018 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi NazwanTaj,

With regards to you issue. Excel has a 32,767 character limit when wrapping text. As an alternative, you can use the File System Dataset to CSV action and out the dataset as a .txt file. This will avoid the limitation issue. Another alternative would be to create a text, or other file format for each email utilizing our Loop dataset action.

-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18257 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 6686 on 11/01/2020 at 01:24 AM.
There are currently 927 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 927 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog