Increase font size
Topic Title: Get Focussed Window Title
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/28/2018 02:27 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/28/2018 02:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MarkusKoop
n00b (>6 posts)

Hi there,
I am quite new to Automate and hope someone can help me.

How do I get the Window Title of the focussed window in Automate 11?

I found something posted for Automate 6 (see post here, code see below), but that code is not working in my case (even after adjusting the code to Automate 11 language).

The problem is that I do not have a WindowHandle, which is required for the solution. "GetFocussedWindowHandle()" only returns "0", likely because the window was opened by executing a SAP transaction code instead of opening it via Automate.

Is there something like "GetFocussedWindowTitle()" or a workaround?

I am using Automate 11.0.2.22 on Win 7 and I have SAP opening new windows with very specific titles, which sometimes even change when I select another cost center or view of the data. There seems to be no Automate window handle for these windows). I need to read the title into a variable in order to use it dynamically for other Automate actions (such as movemousetoobject).
Since the window is opened by SAP (initiated by keystrokes), there is also no "Populate variable with Window Title" element for me to use.

I appreciate your kind assistance
Best regards
Markus

and here is the code from the mentioned post for Automate 6:

Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 06/01/2018 06:46 AM

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Hello Markus,