Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Export 10 -> import 11: SQL issues
Topic Summary: 11.0.2.22
Created On: 12/28/2017 08:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/28/2017 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edward Hulleman
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 232
Joined: 11/07/2006

I still have some tasks running in version 10 because 11 gave issues.
Today I installed the latest version of 11.
Then in 10 I exported the task to .ampkg and imported the file in 11.

It results in a task with three issues:


1. Connection string

The connection string it uses to connect to an SQL database returns a Login failed for user ''
But there is a user mentioned in the string:

Provider=MSDASQL.1;Password=XXX;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=XXXs;Data Source=GGCCOGSQL;Initial Catalog=CognosTables


2. SQL statements are empty.
It only shows the Session name and the dataset it has to fill, but no query.
To continue testing I copy the query manually.


3. The loop datasets loops while it is empty
The sql returns no data (which is correct), but still Automate enters the 'loop dataset'.
What it should not do because it is empty, so it immediately starts returning errors because fields do not exist.


So it looks like I have to stick to 10 for another while ?
 12/28/2017 09:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello Edward,

Would it be possible to email the v10 workflows over so that we can run some internal test and find out what is causing the issue?

-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 12/28/2017 09:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edward Hulleman
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 232
Joined: 11/07/2006

that is possible, to which mail address?
 12/28/2017 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello Edward,

Send it over to AutoMate.Support@helpsystems.com

-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 12/29/2017 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edward Hulleman
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 232
Joined: 11/07/2006

Ricardo, it is even worse: a query that worked fine in 10 and 11.01 does not work anymore in 11.02.
It just gives no records back while exactly the same query in version 10 has no problem. I want to remove 11.02 and install 11.01 again because I use queries in most of my tasks. Is going back the the last version possible?

How many customers actually use Automate Enterprise 11? Am I the only one with so many issues?
 12/29/2017 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mary Manzano
HelpSystems

Posts: 280
Joined: 03/10/2014

Hello Edwards,

We don't have a number count of how many customer user AE 11. We have received your email we will open a case and address the issue with you via the case.

-------------------------
Mary Manzano | Technical Consultant
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 01/03/2018 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Edward -

No, you aren't the only one. Going from v10 to v11 for us was a painful and slow process. I discovered a lot of my workflow had to be corrected after updating them to v11 - some of which I submitted tickets for.

-------------------------
<html />
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1681 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1681 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog