Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Process Agent (JAVA)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/31/2018 05:53 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/31/2018 05:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TimoCordes
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/12/2016

Hi Guys,


I read today the documentation of the Automate Enterprise and discovered a point about process agents: The Process Agents are OS independent since they use JAVA.
What meant this exactly?

Do they offer all functionalitys that normal Task Agents also offers?
Are there limitations about cross OS functions (what happens if i run a Task that use Windows functions on a Linux Agent?


Regards
Timo
 01/31/2018 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Timo,

The Process Agent can run on any OS that supports Java. However, the Process Agent does not have the same functionality of a Task Agent. The Process Agent allows the ability to send command line strings only.

-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/12/2018 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TimoCordes
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/12/2016

Hi Leaonard,

Thanks for your respond. Is there any detailed description what that means? Which functionality is working and which is not working?
 02/12/2018 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi Timo,

Here's the help page for the Process Agent:
https://static.helpsystems.com/automate/help/ame_11/Content/SrvrMgmtCons/Agents/Process_Agents/Process_Agent.htm

Process agents are not able to run tasks but rather run Process Objects which will only send commands to the process agent:
https://static.helpsystems.com/automate/help/ame_11/Content/SrvrMgmtCons/Agents/Process_Agents/Process_Agent.htm

Please let me know if you have any questions.

-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1193 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1193 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog