Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Fatal Execution Exception
Topic Summary: Odd error...
Created On: 02/12/2018 09:12 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/12/2018 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Every now and then we will get an error notification of an error that looks something like this:

Error Text:
Fatal execution exception: Could not find file 'C:\ProgramData\AutoMate\Automate Agent 11\TaskCache\{100DC537-6CC3-4011-8B45-53365072A04A}.cst'. (Step -1 in function )

This error rarely happens - like maybe 2-3 times a month and I have no idea how to reproduce it. The {GUID Value} isn't the same each time either. It doesn't appear to be causing any issues but I am not really sure what it means. It would do this in v10 as well.

Just wondering if this is a known issue or if anyone else has seen this?

-------------------------
<html />
 02/14/2018 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello James,

Is it possible to review the logs to see when this error occurs? Then we can match which workflow(s) run at that time to narrow it down further.

Does it only occur when you are away or logged off from the machine?

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/14/2018 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Alex -

Are you referring to AutoMate logs or the Windows Application Event Logs?

These errors have always occurred while logged off, to my knowledge but I am not 100%. Sometimes when I leave for the day I may disconnect from the server instead of actually logging out.

-------------------------
<html />
 02/16/2018 02:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello James,

More the reports or the task events log located at:

C:\ProgramData\AutoMate\AutoMate BPA Agent 10

On a side note, please make note if the issue occurs when you disconnect. It is not recommended to disconnect as it will cause issues with the execution of workflows. Including, but not limited to, workflows getting stuck.

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/16/2018 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Alex, what do you mean by disconnect? Are you referring to disconnecting from the RDP session to the server?

-------------------------
<html />
 02/19/2018 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello James,

Yes, disconnecting from the RDP session to the server.

The reason being that AutoMate looks for a session when running an interactive task. Whether the session is logged on, logged off, or locked, is fine since we have settings that will account for those types of scenarios. However, if the session is "disconnected", then AutoMate will not see the session, causing issues.

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/20/2018 06:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Ok thanks for the explanation Alex. I will make a note of that should it occur again. I will say however, that I have often disconnected from my server session in the past instead of logging off because I had things open and/or running that I did not want to terminate - far more often than having these particular errors though.

-------------------------
<html />
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 434 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 434 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog