Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Database Migration Utility - SQL connection string
Topic Summary: Database Migration Utility
Created On: 05/29/2018 06:13 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/29/2018 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MichealCarolissen
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/13/2015

Hi

After migrating from v10.7 to v11.0.6.11 using the database migration utility, tasks that use the SQL connection type: connection string, the connection string displays as the encryption connection string and not the original connection string causing the task to fail.

please see attached screenshot.

Thanks

Click for full image
Click for larger image

 06/01/2018 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello Michael,

Will rebuilding the connection string allow you to then connect?

We will test this report based on your findings.

thank you.

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 06/11/2018 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello Michael,

We have reproduced this issue and have issued a bug number for it. The bug number is 24271. We hope to correct this issue in an upcoming release of the software.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 06/12/2018 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimBerg
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 64
Joined: 03/02/2015

I have the same issue. Some of the connections that use a sql connect string stored in a variable are okay. Others are not. I have one report that defines a custom connection string and stores it in a variable. There are 6 datasets that are created using the same connection string (%DBCONN%). One was converted correctly in AE 11.0.5. The other 5 are trashed. They look like partial encryption attempts.
Did anyone test this stuff before it was released?
 07/09/2018 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MichealCarolissen
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/13/2015

Hi

Regarding bug 24271, is there a eta on the next release as this is holding us back from upgrading to v11.

Thanks
 07/10/2018 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EjStanley
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 80
Joined: 08/17/2010

The last date, not confirmed of course, that I had been given was late July.
 07/11/2018 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

Unfortunately we do not have an ETA we can share at this moment, we do hope to have this resolved as soon as possible.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 07/11/2018 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesLankford
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 369
Joined: 11/26/2012

Does the mentioned bug only affect instances where the Database Migration Utility is used? We are currently on 11.0.5; would this issue affect us if we go ahead and upgrade to 11.0.6?

-------------------------
<html />
 07/12/2018 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi James,

That is correct, this issue will not affect you if you do not use the tool. You can upgrade your current setup and not run into the issue since you will be pointing to the same database.

-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 742 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 742 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog