Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: maximum variable length
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/01/2012 08:44 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/01/2012 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
oradba
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/30/2008

I have a text file with one line that contains a list of about 450 email addresses. The length of this line is a little over 10,000 characters. I try reading that into a variable and then put the variable into the "To:" field of an email, but it always fails with the following message:

(Step 5) Send Email Error : One or more recipients rejected.


I know the email addresses are correct because for this test I have simply put my own email address in. My intent is to send one email to 450 people, not 450 individual emails. So I don't want to loop through a list of emails and send one per person. Does anyone know if I'm hitting a maximum size limit on the variable? Or a maximum size limit in the "To:" field of the email? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

 Category Survey
 05/01/2012 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

How are you separating the email addresses? If you paste the same characters in your email client, do all of the email addresses resolve? Are you using IMAP, SMTP, or Exchange? Are you providing authentication credentials?







 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/03/2012 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
oradba
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/30/2008

The email addresses are separated by semi-colons. Yes, I can paste the same line into my Outlook client and send it just fine. That's the process I do monthly that I'd like to automate. AutoMate is setup to use SMTP sending the email to our exchange server. I don't send authentication credentials, but the server is setup to allow emails to be sent to the exchange server. I can send emails just fine with other automate tasks, just not with this one.

 Category Survey
 05/03/2012 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Are all of the email addresses internal email addresses specific to your domain, or are some external domains as well? Keep in mind that your email client most likely authenticates to the server when sending these emails. Please try adding your authentication credentials to the action and let me know if the problem persists.





 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 869 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 869 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog