Network Automation Software
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Remote Agent accessing shares on Server
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/20/2012 06:40 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/20/2012 06:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

I tried to install a remote agent to a different server. Install went ok but in our
enviornment security does not allow Admin$ or C$ shares. We briefly enabled
for the install but when GPO runs it disables them again. Is there a way to make
the agent use a different share?

BPA Server 7 ver 7.1.3.0
MS Windows Server 2003

thanks,

 Category Survey
 06/21/2012 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi John,

Did you try installing the Agent from the .exe or from the SMC? You may want to try an Advanced install using the BPA Server 7 install .exe.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 07/05/2012 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

I did a deploy from the SMC.
Will doing an "advanced" install allow the agent to communcate to the
BPA server without using the Admin$ or C$ share?

thanks

 Category Survey
 07/05/2012 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi John,

The deploy method actually creates a share so that the file can be copied and executed using WMI. You do have other alternatives:

1. Copy the AutoMate BPA Agent.msi file from the BPA installation folder onto the remote machines you want to install the agent on. Execute the installer and follow the prompts. Make sure you change the server location field since it defaults to localhost.
2. Run the BPA Server installation executable on the remote machine. Only select the Agent and follow the prompts. Make sure you change the server location field since it defaults to localhost.






 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18257 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 6686 on 11/01/2020 at 01:24 AM.
There are currently 835 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 835 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog