Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BPA7 - Currently running tasks on Agent servers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/19/2013 07:09 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by Ricardo Castaneda, on Thursday, April 25, 2013 5:49 AM

Answer:
Hi Matthew,

If you are logged in via RDP and the window is left open when you close out the RDP session Task Triggering could remain disabled. It is recommended that if you open the window, make sure to close it.

Enabling this option will allow you to stop tasks from running as well.
 04/19/2013 07:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MatthewKoch
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 26
Joined: 12/19/2011

Is it possible to see what tasks are currently running on servers with BPA Agents installed on them? Execution reports only seem to display items that have completed (successfully or otherwise) and when you hover over the tray icon, it only displays "Running - 1 task(s). 0 Queued." On our BPA server, the Execution Status window is empty - should this contain a log of tasks that have been run / are currently running?

 Category Survey
 04/19/2013 08:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Matthew,

I would suggest that you "Enable the task interruption hokey" option within the SMC. This will allow you to "Show Running Tasks" when you right click the A icon.

In order to accomplish this you will need to complete the following;
1. Open the SMC
2. Select Options
3. Select Default Properties
4. Select Indicators
5. Add a check for "Enable the Task Interruption hotkey"
6. Press Apply

Note: Make sure to close the "Show Running Tasks" window. When this window is open task triggering is disabled.

Let us know if that works for you.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 04/19/2013 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MatthewKoch
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 26
Joined: 12/19/2011

Thank you for the information Ricardo.

Is there any risk (after enabling this option), that someone could accidentally abort or "interrupt" a running task by right clicking the A icon?

 Category Survey
 04/19/2013 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Answer Answer
Hi Matthew,

If you are logged in via RDP and the window is left open when you close out the RDP session Task Triggering could remain disabled. It is recommended that if you open the window, make sure to close it.

Enabling this option will allow you to stop tasks from running as well.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1202 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1202 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog