Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Not finishing tasks.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/25/2013 05:19 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/25/2013 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EmersonGiovanelli
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/24/2013

Hi Currently I have some workflows that perform various tasks in daily schedules specific. But when they wheeled around the script run properly but stop at the last step. And would like to know if someone could explain to me why or how resoulver this problem.

 

Note: Automate BPA7 7.1.3 OS Windows Server 2008 R2 (Virtual Machine) 4 CPU 2.66GHz

 

Automate the Cofigurações:

Isolation: Never isolate

Task Isolation: Low

 

Note 1: Basically tasks connect to a terminal native and sends some commands. All the tasks are conxão with the same terminal. The maximum of tasks running simultaneously are 8 but run the same number of tasks on another occasion and it performed successfully. The processing reaches a maximum of 80% and nothing else is running in conjunction with the tasks.

Att. Emerson Giovanelli



 Category Survey
 04/26/2013 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Emerson,

Are there any errors thrown by BPA?

Are there any errors in the Windows Event Viewer?

Would it be possible to post the workflow in question?



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 04/29/2013 07:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EmersonGiovanelli
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/24/2013

Decreases all in one task and put to run on 9.0.4 Automate Premium keeping the same settings as before. But the problem persists.

Regarding the errors there is nothing in EventMonitor or log in Automate. tasks simply stand still.

 



 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 04/29/2013 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

When the issue occurs are there any tasks running in the Windows Task Manager -> Processes tab (BPATask.exe) when you notice the triggering stop? If so, please enable the Command Line column in the Task Manager which will allow you to see which task is running the BPATask.exe process.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 04/30/2013 08:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EmersonGiovanelli
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 04/24/2013

There is only the tasks that are running, due to the fact that they fought in the last row. To add to the above-described migration processing carried out of the machine decreased to less than 40%.



 Category Survey
 04/30/2013 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Emerson,

Do your tasks have Priority settings? If you set the tasks to run alone, do you see the same issue occur?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 04/30/2013 12:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FabioCrivelaro
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 58
Joined: 05/06/2010

Hey Liz, I'm working with Emerson around this issue (We are from Growtec - Brazil), Emerson is in Growtec and I am on the client's environment.

Well the scene is the following. We are using AutoMate Premium 9.0.4.5 to gain in performance because BPA uses too much process of the server. (more than 70% with just 30 tasks running).
The AutoMate Premium is using around 40% with 60 tasks.

Our main problem is that the tasks are not finishing, I mean, they run perfectly but sometimes (most of the time) before finish, they stop (like a pause) on the last one step, as you can see on the image attached.

Nowadays, we have four identical tasks running at 2AM, 3AM, 4AM and 5AM. Today the task that run at 5AM and 4AM stopped, but I don't know which one will stop tomorrow...




 Category Survey
 04/30/2013 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FabioCrivelaro
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 58
Joined: 05/06/2010

About your ask, the tasks are set to "don't run if there is another instance of this task running".

Doesn't matter which setting we use... One or more tasks will stop (pause).

 Category Survey


Edited: 04/30/2013 at 12:55 PM by FabioCrivelaro
 05/01/2013 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Fabio,

We are currently testing the same issue for another user. We will update this ticket when we have more information. If possible, could you please create a crash dump when you notice the stoppage? You would do this by opening the Task Manager -> Processes -> Right click on the BPATask.exe that is stuck and "create dump." Also, a .dmp from BPA_TS.exe would be helpful as well. You would need to send these files to support@networkautomation.com and reference this forum post.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1513 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1513 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog