Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Change Agent Names
Topic Summary: Migrating from server 2k3 to 2k8 using SQL repository
Created On: 09/16/2013 10:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/16/2013 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

We are migrating from server 2k3 to server2k8.
Our current 2k3 server uses a SQL database for data wharehouse storage.
I have built the 2k8 servers, installed BPA Server but when the agents
were created they took on the name of the new servers. When I connect
the new server to the SQL server holding the workflows, how can i change
to the new defalt Agent names in the SQL DB?

 Category Survey
 09/16/2013 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi John,

Have you tried to change the Agent Name within the SMC?

1. Open the SMC
2. Select the Agent Tab
3. Right Click on the Agent and Select Rename

Let us know if that works for you.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 09/17/2013 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

Yes I tried that but still does not work.
I think the SQL repository still has the old agents in the DB.
Before I connected to the DB the agent on the new server was working fine.
After connecting and renaming, the agent wont start, just says "reconecting to local host". Can I rename the agetns in the DB? if so what table would they be in?

 Category Survey
 09/17/2013 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi John,

Are the old agent names still in the SMC? If so, shutdown agent service for the new agents. Edit the registry on each of the new agents installed.

32bit:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Automation\BPA Agent\TaskService\Agent

64bit:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Network Automation\BPA Agent\TaskService\Agent

You want to change the AgentID strings in the registry to match the Unique IDs from the original agents in the SMC. The unique IDs are in the details section of the agents. Once you have changed the AgentIDs in the registry, start the new agent services. They should start up and show up connected as the original agents. You can then change their names in the SMC. This will not affect workflow references.



 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/18/2013 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

Here is my config and what I am trying to do:

BPA server windows 2003 has data store on SQL server windows 2003 all is working.

Fresh install BPA server on windows 2008 all working on XML data store
Copied existing data store database from SQL 2003 server to SQL 2008 server

When connecting BPA server 2008 to copy of data store on SQL server 2008,
agents wont run (stay red). I assume that this is because the agent names in
the copied data store still reflect those of the old 2003 server which i need to
decommission soon. If I revert the BPA server 2008 back to the XLM data store,
the BPA server 2008 agents come back online.

So how can i get the copied data store agents to match the name of the agents
on the new BPA windows 2008 server and use the agent naming convention from
the new BPA windows 2008 server?

example:
2003 server agents named bob1 and bob2
2008 server agents named joe1 and joe2
but copied data store still has bob1 and bob2



 Category Survey
 09/24/2013 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

John,

The information I posted earlier still applies. The agent references within the database is by agent ID and not agent name.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/25/2013 08:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

see below

 Category Survey
 09/25/2013 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnAlfaro
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 34
Joined: 06/23/2008

I checked the registry as you asked for the agent info and it is correct and reflects
the same info in the BPA Console Manager.

But looking at the SQL data base it still has the keys associated with the old
server agents. So when I change from XML data store and connect to the SQL
data store my agents wont start. But when conecting to SQL, I am asked if I wish
to inport my XML settings, I always say no because it wipes out the SQL database.

Can I copy the keys from the new servers registry and overwrite teh ones in SQL
tables or will this break something deeper?

Again, thanks for all your help.

 Category Survey
 10/01/2013 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi John,

I apologize for the delayed response but can you please clarify what "Keys" you are referring to?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1465 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1465 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog