Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Automatic reboot of BPA7
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/08/2009 06:39 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/08/2009 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobertGreenwood
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 119
Joined: 09/07/2005

I have a BPA7 workflow that creates a file on our network every 30 minutes. A timed Automate 6 task running on another PC looks for the file and if found ends the task.

If not found a warning (pager and email) is sent to check the BPA7 application. To enhance this process I want the Automate 6 task to reboot the BPA7 server to reset the application if the file is not found.

Both BPA7 server and agent run on the BPA7 server and are set to automatic to start these services. When the server is rebooted using the local system account the BPA7 application does not trigger any scheduled or file watch triggers. Any ideas why this doesn't work?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Bob Greenwood
BPA8, W2K3 Server,
VMWare, XP Clients
 07/08/2009 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Bob,
I suspect BPAEM.exe to not be running. Can you check that in Windows task manager ?

When I have such problems I run the attached task that resets everything (I name it AutomateBPAReset.aml) from a shortcut as hereunder
"C:\Program Files\AutoMate BPA Server\BPATask.exe" "\\Hp-1490\SharedDocs\Mes T√Ęches AutoMate\AM7\AutomateBPAReset.aml"
Of course you should customize the aml file location to your system.

You could try it and see what happens.

 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 08/05/2009 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobertGreenwood
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 119
Joined: 09/07/2005

Jean

I am just getting back to this. The problem I am having is BPA7 hicups every so often without warning. It will stop running any tasks. When I go into services I can manually stop the agent service but when I try to stop the server service it errors with 1053 (service not responding) and hangs in stopping status. I then have to reboot the server to get BPA7 running again.

I know when this happens based on the Automate 6 task that runs as explained earlier in is thread. Yes I wish I knew why it fails but for now I am just trying to have the server reboot itself and resume operation without manual intervention (like in the middle of the night!!). BPA7 doesn't want to run any tasks after a reboot without someone logging in which makes me think the BPA7 services don't start until that happens.

I am not sure where your restart process would figure into this process.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Bob Greenwood
BPA8, W2K3 Server,
VMWare, XP Clients
 08/05/2009 09:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dustin Snell
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 1656
Joined: 03/30/2005

Under Options | Default Task Properties : Logon you should be able to control whether tasks execute even when the machine is logged off. Be aware that when tasks execute while a machine is logged out they cannot do anything interactive because there is no desktop.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Dustin Snell
 08/05/2009 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobertGreenwood
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 119
Joined: 09/07/2005

I always set all these options to run as background user (default user) in agent options which should allow tasks to run.

What about under default properties indicators agent icon in tray (always). Does this mean that tasks will not run on a reboot because the icon cannot be loaded?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Bob Greenwood
BPA8, W2K3 Server,
VMWare, XP Clients
 08/05/2009 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Robert,

The icon being loaded does not necessarily mean that is the problem. It seems to be more server than agent related. Are there any messages in event viewer that reference BPA? Is the BPA Server and Agent service using its default configuration or has a different user other than Local System been assigned to the services? Are you logged onto the console directly or through a remote session?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/06/2009 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobertGreenwood
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 119
Joined: 09/07/2005

Attached are the BPA event viewer errors. These are from two separate servers. The services are using the default configuration (local system) user. The servers are VMWare servers logged on but locked at the time of failure.

I found that the first error relates to the log size failure common to BPA7.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Bob Greenwood
BPA8, W2K3 Server,
VMWare, XP Clients

Edited: 08/06/2009 at 02:16 PM by RobertGreenwood
 08/06/2009 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

The first error message refers to your ExecutionEvents.xml taking too long to be written to. This is due to its filesize.

Please check your Options>Server Settings>Log Management and let me know what are the settings. You may also want to click on the Clear Execution Events button to clear the file.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/07/2009 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobertGreenwood
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 119
Joined: 09/07/2005

Log events are set to be cleared older than 7 days.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Bob Greenwood
BPA8, W2K3 Server,
VMWare, XP Clients
 08/07/2009 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Robert,
BPA service getting into perpetuel stopping state is really a problem.
If you cannot kill it with the service console, you always can kill the process xith Windows task manager.
I designed a task that stops (or if necessary kills) all of BPA then restarts it properly. Attached. Of course, it should not be run as a managed task, because if the service is down it would never run.
It can be run from a shortcut or from any OEM application or Windows scheduler.

 Category Survey





-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 08/11/2009 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobertGreenwood
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 119
Joined: 09/07/2005

For now I have my auto reboot process in-place and working so if BPA7 stops working on either server the server will be rebooted without manual intervention sending a notification that the reboot occured.

If the event log size and task log sharing issues are addressed in the next release that should improve stability even more.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Bob Greenwood
BPA8, W2K3 Server,
VMWare, XP Clients
 08/11/2009 08:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Robert,

The upcoming release of BPA definitely does address those issues.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/12/2012 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JivaJentile
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 94
Joined: 03/07/2006

Jean~
we are having a related issue that i was hoping you might shed some light on...
in addition to the occasional server lock-ups, we seem to have an issue with tasks that do PGP encryption failing due to Memory issues. i assume we have a memory leak somewhere in there and rebooting the server seems to clear it up.
i would like to establish with our IT dept a regular reboot of the server, but the problem is identifying a time when there are no tasks running. i assume bad things will happen if we reboot while BPA7 is busy. and its always busy.
maybe if we stop the service manually first? but, if a task is in the middle of running, what would happen if the service was shut off?
is there some way to force an orderly shutdown, and reliable subsequent resumption?
if a schedule point is missed, does the task fire when service is resumed, or wait for the next schedule point? what about a file watcher?

we have some tasks that wait for a database to be available before proceeding, and these sometimes sit there for days waiting. so there are almost always at least these tasks running, on top of the hundred+ others that operate daily. we move large volumes of data and many of these tasks take many hours to run.

do you have any ideas on some automated or manual process that we could follow to support the need for a regular server reboot without disrupting scheduling or dropping tasks in progress?
thanks in advance for your [always excellent] insights...
~jiva


 Category Survey
 11/12/2012 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Jiva,
your point is very interesting.
But I don't have a comprehensive answer
Here are my first impressions :

If one stops the service (agent), the currently running tasks would keep running, ( if they don't trigger other tasks), provided isolation is set to High, in which case each tasks runs in its own BPATask process.
About the scheduled tasks, they would resume upon restart of the agent according to what is specified in the trigger definition.

The major damage I think of is that the BPA reports would not report any event later than the service stop time.

If you have tasks waiting very long times for some event, they could be modified for them to wait in a loop where they test the presence (status) of the agent service, so that they can be programmatically stopped cleanly when the agent gets stopped, and not keep waiting.

One can also test for the tasks execution dry up by counting the BPATask processes still running.

These are just thoughts, Anyhow it is worth testing.


 Category Survey


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 12/14/2012 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JivaJentile
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 94
Joined: 03/07/2006

Jean~
i have taken your suggestion and written a small app that IT can use to see if automate is busy at the moment. the user drops a text file that contains their email address into a watched folder, and automate sends them a report like the one pasted in below. of course, i only count processes like BPATask.exe, and i subtract this task from the total i report.

this only goes part way towards solving our problem tho. what we really want is a way for automate itself to detect if any tasks are running, and reboot the host machine the automate server runs on!

we have an old automate 6 install also on a separate machine that could possibly be involved in this. even if we Could do this, I'm wondering if we can count on the automate services coming back up properly all by themselves.

does this seem doable? any thoughts?

-----------------------------------------------
BPA is Running....
Number of currently active BPA task processes: 1

12/14/2012 1:08:51 PM: ---[ ALL AUTOMATE PROCESSES.... ]---
12/14/2012 1:08:51 PM: [ProcessID 1372] C:\Program Files\AutoMate BPA Server\AMTS.exe
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: MaximumWorkingSetSize 1380
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Read 103402517
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Written 146779079
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: [ProcessID 1416] C:\Program Files\AutoMate BPA Server\BPAS.exe
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: MaximumWorkingSetSize 1380
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Read 5576609
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Written 6778870
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: [ProcessID 5028] C:\Program Files\AutoMate BPA Server\BPATask.exe
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: MaximumWorkingSetSize 1380
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Read 781217
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Written 871619
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: [ProcessID 2740] C:\Program Files\AutoMate BPA Server\BPATask.exe
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: MaximumWorkingSetSize 1380
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Read 780307
12/14/2012 1:08:52 PM: Data Written 871526


 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 12/15/2012 01:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Jiva,
a WMI invoked from basic script could hopefully do it as shown here

I did not try it by myself. Could you ? and tell me the outcome ?

A few more solutions can be found Googling "script to reboot the machine"


 Category Survey


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 01/07/2013 01:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JivaJentile
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 94
Joined: 03/07/2006

Jean~
i will have to get buy-in from IT before i can deploy such a solution, especially since no-one else apparently is already doing this. [i wonder why? doesn't anyone else have memory leaks and need to reboot regularly?]. of particular concern is how reliably the automate services will come back up after a reboot all on their own.

cant say if or when this may go any further into test, but i will certainly keep you appraised.

 Category Survey
 01/07/2013 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Jiva,

What version of BPA Server 7 are you running specifically? Is there a possibility you could upgrade to BPA Server 9? Both versions can run side by side.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1227 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1227 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog