Network Automation Software
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Create Custom Actions
Topic Summary: Create Custom Actions for BPA Sever 7
Created On: 07/21/2011 11:07 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/21/2011 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardSchissler
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/21/2011

Is it possible to create custom actions? I wanted to mkae some custom actions that already have my setting set is why.



 Category Survey
 07/21/2011 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Richard,

At this time there is not any way to create your own actions.

What exactly did you want to accomplish? Perhaps you can produce a DLL and use the Execute DLL action depending on what your goal is.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation

Edited: 07/22/2011 at 09:29 AM by Rick Johnson
 07/22/2011 06:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardSchissler
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/21/2011

My goal was to customize existing actions as well as create new. Basically a easy way to reuse parts of task from other workflows that are similar or exactly the same.

If I need to to do the same actions in different tasks i wanted if to be easier than having both open and coping actions from one to another.



 Category Survey
 07/22/2011 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Richard,

You might consider breaking the tasks up into smaller pieces that can be reused.

When you place a new task object onto the Workflow Designer canvas, select Associate Existing and select that smaller task. If you need to modify it you can right-click on the newply placed piece, copy it and then right-click on the canvas to select Paste New Item. you can edit the pasted as new item to customize it without affecting the copied task's source.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
Statistics
18257 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 6686 on 11/01/2020 at 01:24 AM.
There are currently 933 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 933 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog