Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BPA7 Seems to trigger workflows and Tasks, but they don't run.
Topic Summary: I can see workflows listed in the Console's Execution Status, but actually don't run.
Created On: 08/01/2011 10:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/01/2011 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RonMiller
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 199
Joined: 03/02/2007

We have a problem with our BPA7 that is recurrent, but not consistent.
We have periods of 2 to 3 weeks when this problem does NOT happen, but other periods when it is sure to happen once a day, sometimes twice.

The problem is an apparent "triggering" of our workflows, but they don't actually run.
When this happens, the list of Workflows and Tasks shown as running in the "Excecution Status" pane in BPA Server Management Console keeps increasing, but the Server is not actually running anything.

We have BPAServer7 (version 7.1.3.0 (build 305111)).
It runs on a server with Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition SP2.
We have only 1 Agent, and it is setup to run on this same Server.

I am attaching a Word Document whith details about what we find when we have the problem, and how we fix it.
Please contact me if you need any further clarification.

Thanks and best regards,
Paulo Monaco
214-912-5505 (mobile)
Paulo.Monaco@fiserv.com


 Category Survey





-------------------------
Paulo Monaco - Fiserv
AM6E, AM7E, BPA7E - W2K3 Servers, XP Clients
 08/01/2011 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Paulo,

Are there any BPA entries in the Windows Event Viewer logs which correlate with the errors that you could also include?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 09/27/2011 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobinCote
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/27/2011

We experience a very similar issue where tasks appear to have run but nothing actually runs.

We catch them by having an external process that checks how long it took for all tasks to run and if it took less than 5 seconds we know it was skipped since we pad all our tasks with a 5 second delay.

We get those visual studio errors as well, randomly..

We can't seem to pinpoint what causes these issues.

We weren't able to find anything in the server's event log and we have the same setup as you on the same operating system.

Please let me know as these issues are forcing us to reconsider using BPA altogether and moving to another solution.

 



 Category Survey
 09/29/2011 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Robin,

Would you be able to demonstrate this behavior over a GoToAssist session? If so please send an email to support@networkautomation.com with your availability.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 09/30/2011 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RobinCote
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/27/2011

Unfortunately we have no way of reproducing a skipped job.

We have no clue what causes it and have spent too much time trying to figure it out.

There's no proof anywhere, no logging, nothing.. it claims it completes but it really didn't do anything.

Simple jobs, complex jobs, we can't find a pattern at all.

This is why I was wondering if OP has found any answers to his issues as they seem similar and maybe it would give us something to work with.

At this point I don't see what a GoToAssist session would do for us.

Thanks for the reply though.

Have you ever seen this type of behavior at all?

 



 Category Survey
 09/30/2011 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Robin,

I would still suggest that we setup a GoToAssist session. Please let us know what would work best for you.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1420 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1420 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog