Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Automate 7 Stops Running, with little or no Indication
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/03/2011 09:59 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/03/2011 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TomCallahan
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/29/2010

I am On Automate 7.1.3.0, and we have been using it as our main File transfer program for Hospital for a few months now, and have been slowly migrating stuff into the system.   However, it has become more and more un-reliable.   2 times last month, it stopped running, even though the services indicated that they wer in fact running.  There was nothing in the error logs indicating it had stopped, and when we checked the task manager, the processes were running.  However, they were not performaing any scheduled tasks.  

Last night, It stopped shipping files once again, but this time at least it generated a 2 identical errors.  Again, however the processes were running.  Below is the error.  We have an external monitor monitoring the processes, and alerting us if they go down, however since the processes are up...we only know that its not working when Files arent being shipped.   What can I do here?

System.ApplicationException: Can't find wwb9_32w.dll in any of these directories: \wwbnet\, C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoMate BPA Server\, e:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\x64\release unicode\, w:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\x64\release unicode\, e:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\win32\release unicode\, w:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\win32\release unicode\

   at a.a.a.i.a(Exception A_0)

   at a.a.a.v..ctor(IFire A_0, Boolean A_1)

   at WinWrap.Basic.BasicNoUIObj.Initialize(String serialNumber)

   at AutoMate.VariableEngine.VariableEngine.InitializeWinWrapEngine()</Data>

  </EventData>

</Event>

Log Name:      Application

Source:        AutoMate BPA Server

Date:          8/3/2011 12:01:00 AM

Event ID:      0

Task Category: None

Level:         Error

Keywords:      Classic

User:          N/A

Computer:      webcore.coh.org

Description:

There was an error initializing the variable engine.

 

System.ApplicationException: Can't find wwb9_32w.dll in any of these directories: \wwbnet\, C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoMate BPA Server\, e:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\x64\release unicode\, w:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\x64\release unicode\, e:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\win32\release unicode\, w:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\win32\release unicode\

   at a.a.a.i.a(Exception A_0)

   at a.a.a.v..ctor(IFire A_0, Boolean A_1)

   at WinWrap.Basic.BasicNoUIObj.Initialize(String serialNumber)

   at AutoMate.VariableEngine.VariableEngine.InitializeWinWrapEngine()

Event Xml:

<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">

  <System>

    <Provider Name="AutoMate BPA Server" />

    <EventID Qualifiers="0">0</EventID>

    <Level>2</Level>

    <Task>0</Task>

    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>

    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-08-03T07:01:00.000000000Z" />

    <EventRecordID>25445</EventRecordID>

    <Channel>Application</Channel>

    <Computer>webcore.coh.org</Computer>

    <Security />

  </System>

  <EventData>

    <Data>There was an error initializing the variable engine.

 

System.ApplicationException: Can't find wwb9_32w.dll in any of these directories: \wwbnet\, C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoMate BPA Server\, e:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\x64\release unicode\, w:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\x64\release unicode\, e:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\win32\release unicode\, w:\dev\ww9.21\msvc2005\wwb\win32\release unicode\

   at a.a.a.i.a(Exception A_0)

   at a.a.a.v..ctor(IFire A_0, Boolean A_1)

   at WinWrap.Basic.BasicNoUIObj.Initialize(String serialNumber)

   at AutoMate.VariableEngine.VariableEngine.InitializeWinWrapEngine()</Data>

  </EventData>

</Event>

 



 Category Survey
 08/03/2011 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Tom,

Is your wwb9_32w.dll file actually present?

Are any related errors logged to the Windows Event Viewer?

Do you suspect any specific task, or set of implemented tasks to be a possible cause? Was the system working until any specific application was installed?
What are the hardware specifications of this machine, and what software other than AutoMate BPA Server is installed on it?
How much uptime has the machine had since the last reboot, and do you already have any rebooting schedule for it?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 08/03/2011 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TomCallahan
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/29/2010

The File is actually there in 2 places. Its in the Automate Directory and the Syswow64 dir.  There was nothing else in the logs at that time.  

As for the Task, I suspect that the task that caused it to start is ouor main FTP transfer service.  We use automate as the engine that runs our FTP tasks, but the tasks are DB driven, so that we can use a web front end to build the transfers.   So we have one Task that performs all the DB moves at the Specified time.  The Service checks the DB every 15 minutes to see if there are any moves to perform, then does them.   So Although ther are no moves at 12:01, the task would ahve started, just to check to see if it has anythingg to do at that time.

Our Specs are Win server 2008R2  64Bit, 4gb Ram, Intel Core 2 t7700 @2.4 GHz, and are using the built in SQL server, not MSSQL for Automate.  

The Main things on this server are sql 2008, and Automate 7.  Thats about it.  We doo run a couple of web apps from IIS from it, but its main purpose is to run automate. The web apps would not have been used at that time.  The Last File move of that day happened at 9pm the day prior, and we had no File moves scheduled until 3am the day of the error.  So although the Process whould have kicked off at 12:01, it would have exited its routine early as nothing was scheduled.

As to a reboot schedule, it would be on a monthly basis, same as the patch schedule.   I checked when the last reboot was, and it was about 1 month ago on 7/2.  Does this system need to be rebooted more frequently?  

 



 Category Survey
 08/04/2011 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Tom,

In your case it might be prudent to reboot more frequently.

When tasks are running, are the CPA and RAM being fully utilized? How many clients are accessing the SQL server?

It is difficult to generalize if a server is being burdened with load without determining how the load is actually affecting the environment. If you find that there is some degradation in performance, then rebooting the machine may be in order.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1249 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1249 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog