Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Error searching - log or detailed description anywhere?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/10/2011 05:01 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/10/2011 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MortenSimonsen
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 72
Joined: 09/28/2010

Hi

One of my workflows has started to generate "Not an object reference" - "Variable does not excist" and other errors when I run it - sometimes the flow runs fine for about 10 minutes, but then I get these errors, and I cant figure out what is wrong.

Is there anyware to find a more detailed descriotion than the one in the "Output" window? - there is nothing to find in Windows Event Viewer.

/Morten Simonsen



 Category Survey


Edited: 08/10/2011 at 06:48 AM by MortenSimonsen
 08/10/2011 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Morten,

The error message should have referenced a line number for the action that failed. Under Reports, you should be able to reference the Execution Events report and get the information that you require.








 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/10/2011 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MortenSimonsen
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 72
Joined: 09/28/2010

Yes, I know what step fails, but not why - the description is for example "variable does not excist" - but the variable is created in "Shared variables" in the workflow - that is an example of a situation where I need more information ...

I tried getting some data from Reports > Execute Event Table, but no matter what I set in the 2 options fields, I get the massage "Reporting Engine did not recieve massage within certain timespan from BPA Server" after about 10 seconds. 



 Category Survey
 08/10/2011 07:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Morten,

What version of BPA7 are you running? Also, are you running subworkflows within a parent workflow?








 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/10/2011 07:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MortenSimonsen
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 72
Joined: 09/28/2010

7.1.3.0 (Build 305111) and no - there are only tasks/evaluations  in the workflows - no workflows in workflows ...



 Category Survey
 08/10/2011 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Morten,

It is possible that the number of execution events is large and taking longer than expected when the records are fetched. Does that happen every time you try to look at that report?

What other software is installed on this BPA machine? How is the BPA Datastore configured (XML/Embedded/External)? Does the server appear to be strained resourcewise (low available RAM, high CPU/Handle/Thread usage) during operation?
Is the agent which runs the workflow also on the same machine as the server?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 08/11/2011 01:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MortenSimonsen
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 72
Joined: 09/28/2010

That was my thought too - but I tried taking a report for just 1 workflow in a 10 minutes period and got the same massage, so I really do not hope that that is the case. It happens no matter what task/workflow and what period I choose.

 

The Machine is Intel Xeon X5550 2.67 GHz 4 GB Ram

Windows Server 2003 R2 SP2

It has nothing special installed, besides Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2 (I cant remember if that is just part of the BPA installation?)

Data Store: Embedded Database

Do you mean, during the workflow-run, or during the report-generation?

No, agent is a diffrent machine than the server.

 



 Category Survey
 08/11/2011 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Morten,

BPA Server v8 would install SQL Server 2008 R2 Express version, but not BPA 7.

The Embedded Database is not a high end database server, but you could create an empty database on that SQL server and when you have BPA create a datastore there, it would populate the new datastore with your existing embedded datastore's data. It might improve the reliability of your system.

To answer your question about resource usage, both during workflow execution and report generation. It would also be good to compare those readings to readings taken when the server is idle as well, on both agent and server.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 08/12/2011 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MortenSimonsen
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 72
Joined: 09/28/2010

I changed to SQL Server, and now I can get the report - thats super, but still, there are no information in the report, more than the massage I can see in the output:

"Not an object reference." at script line 2 (Code: 15544)(Step 1)

The step is "Assign text %dataset.value% to ...

I suspect that the problem is that my dataset sometimes does not work, but it can sometimes run for 20 loops/40 minutes with no problems, and sometimes 2 loops and then fail, so I cant figure out why.

The CPU use is very low - 0 - 10% when the workflows run. And the RAM use is less than 1000 MB / 4000 MB

Im stuck on the error search, and when I cant find anymore details than the 1 line in the output, I dont know where to start searching ... hope it makes sense.



 Category Survey
 08/12/2011 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Morten,

It could be the case that the embedded datastore was having problems with logging the data, as well as fetching the data. If that was the case, upgrading the datastore mechanism could not restore data which did not get correctly written.

Are you encountering new instances of problems which occurred after the datastore upgrade?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 08/15/2011 01:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MortenSimonsen
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 72
Joined: 09/28/2010

Rick

I understand and thats no problem - I can live without the historical data.

No, the data and reports seems to work as they should - still, I would very much like to have a more detailed description of what happens, other than the lines in the output window.



 Category Survey
 08/15/2011 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Morten,

Which data did you want to see that was not included?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1375 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1375 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog