Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Automate agent not connecting /coming up properly
Topic Summary: BPA agent is not visible in system tray and workflows are not executing
Created On: 09/26/2011 07:11 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/26/2011 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

I have a problem that my BPA agent is not coming up. I have tried reinstalling and repairing AutoMate, but am stuck with this issue.

I have BPA server 7.0.8.2 on a server and installed an agent on a remote desktop (win 2008)
The agent icon does not appear in the system tray. I am able to login to the BPA server from the server management console, and  the agent I installed is showing up as online.
I see the BPA agent in the services window on the remote desktop. When I restart it from services window, I see the following message logged in Event viewer:
AutoMate BPA Agent has started.
 AutoMate Service User could not logon. Is the username and password correct?

When I execute a workflow using this agent, I get a message saying task 'abc' running on agent 'xyz' failed because agent is logged off and could not be logged on. Verify the username and password for agent is correct.

Any help would be much appreciated.



 Category Survey
 09/27/2011 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Are there any messages referencing the agent in event viewer? Is the agent service set to run as the LOCAL SYSTEM? Is there a reason why you are running 7.0.8.2? A lot of agent issues have been addressed in the subsequent 7.1.X releases.








 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/27/2011 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

Hi, Thanks for your quick response. Yes, the Agent is set to Local System.

 

Event Vwr shows:

AutoMate Service User could not logon. Is the username and password correct?

Don't know about upgrade. Need to ask my manager....



 Category Survey
 09/27/2011 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AkivaMiller
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 172
Joined: 03/06/2006

Hi Leonard, Thanks for helping us here.... I am having the same problem.... Would very much appreciate your help!

 Category Survey
 09/27/2011 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AkivaMiller
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 172
Joined: 03/06/2006

Please see attached showing error and resgistry values

 Category Survey


Click for full image
Click for larger image

 09/27/2011 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Deepa and Akiva,

Are there error messages referring to Automate in the Windows Event Viewer? Please check your running processes and let me know if bpaem.exe is running.






 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/27/2011 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AkivaMiller
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 172
Joined: 03/06/2006

Hi Leonard, I believe that when we started the Agent, the AMTS.exe came up (the agent went down also when I killed AMTS.exe). I do not think the BPAEM.exe was running. Please note however, that the Agent service showed as "Started" under Services. Please advise. Thank you very much!

 Category Survey
 09/27/2011 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Please kill the following processes:

amts.exe
bpaem.exe

Then restart the BPA agent service and let me know if the problem persists. As I mentioned before there have been some extensive agent corrections in the later BPA7 builds. You may want to look into upgrading to v7.1.3.0.





 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/27/2011 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

Hi Leonard,

I appreciate your prompt feedback

So I tried your recommendations.

I notice only amts.exe in task manager. I killed it and restarted BPA agent.

This is events from log viewer:

Attempting to connect to AutoMate BPA Server at 10.136.195.97 on port 7100
error:AutoMate Service User could not logon.  Is the username and password correct?
Connection made to AutoMate BPA Server at 10.136.195.97 on port 7100
Retrieving agent triggering conditions...
Applying agent properties...
Agent authentication of SWIFT_AGENT successful.
Applying agent triggering conditions...

When agent was restarted, only amts.exe *32  is shown in task manager. I dont see the BPAEM.exe in Task manager.
I located BPAEM.exe in Automate program folder, but nothing happens when I try to launch it. I do not see it in task manager..

Is it worth mentioning the remote destop on which agent is running is 64 bit system...

 

Many thanks,

Deepa



 Category Survey
 09/27/2011 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

Hi Leonard,

Is the username password stored anywhere on device?

Could we force a reset? We have removed and installed BPA several times on this machine, and maybe something got corrupted?

Thanks,



 Category Survey
 09/28/2011 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Deepa,

There are usernames and passwords stored on the BPA Server side when you supply them as a Default User for the Agent, Server Default Properties, and Task Properties. However, this error message appears to be eithe generated from a task/workflow that is set to either unlock/logon the workstation or run in the background and the user credentials are incorrect. Or the actual Agent service has been changed so that it runs as a specific user and this user may not have the appropriate rights to start the Event Monitor. I would double check that the service is running as System.







 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/28/2011 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

Hi Leonard,

I rechecked that the BPA Agent service (AMTS) is running as Local system user.

However I do not find the BPAEM.exe running on the system.

Even when I double click the executable from Windows explorer, it is not getting launched.

Is there any way I can find out who has run priveleges on this bpaem.exe?

Also how can I get a trial verion of v7.13 to see if that version works?

Thanks much,

Deepa 



 Category Survey
 09/29/2011 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Deepa,

Are you the only user that is currently logged into that machine, or are there users logged in via Remote Desktop? If there is a user logged in via RDP it is possible that the user has the BPAEM.exe running on their session.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 09/29/2011 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

Hi Ricardo,

I was the only person logged on to the machine.

We are considering renewing our contract , and it would be very helpful if we can get this working...

Many thanks,

Deepa



 Category Survey
 09/29/2011 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

Hi Leonard/Ricardo,

Can I install trial BPA 8(server and agent) on the same machine where I have BPA7 agent installed?

Will these two collide?

 



 Category Survey
 09/29/2011 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Deepa,

Would it be possible to setup a GoToAssist session so that we can go over your issue? If so please send an email to support@networkautomation.com with your availability.


 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 09/29/2011 05:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeepaSundaresa
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 8
Joined: 09/26/2011

Yes. Thanks,

deepa



 Category Survey
 09/30/2011 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Deepa,

After upgrading to BPA Server 7 version 7.1.3, please let us know if your issue persists.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1656 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1656 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog