Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opening Password Protected Excel
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/04/2012 08:08 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by AdamFoisey, on Wednesday, April 4, 2012 9:31 AM

Answer:
Looks like we will need to remove the password prior to automate grabbing the file.
Thank you for the quick response Leonard.
 04/04/2012 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AdamFoisey
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/06/2011

Greetings,

I'm having some trouble opening a password protected Excel doc (.xls) with Automate 7.

Automate Version: 7.1.3.0
Windows Version: Windows XP
Errors: Task pauses indefinitely on step 1 listed in attached code. It is trying to open the workbook, but doesn't completely open due to needing a password. Since it isn't opening fully for that step, it never goes to the next step to enter the password.

Variables:
originalFile - contains the workbook file location
password - contains the password

Previously I had been getting the error on the first step of "Attempt to open workbook failed.". I have tried deselecting this error for the step, but it was still hanging on step 1.
I currently have step 1 set up to error off after 10ms and continue on to the next step when errors, but again it stays hung on step 1.
I had thought about using the Run step, but my steps after the doc is open require a session name for this doc.

Any assistance on this problem would be greatly appreciated.


 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 04/04/2012 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Adam,

Unfortunately, the Excel action does not have the ability to open a password protected .xls file. You will need to use the Run action instead, referencing the .xls file. This will open the spreadsheet and allow your Wait for Window and Send Keystrokes actions to continue. Because you are not opening the .xls file with the Excel actions, you will not be able to use any of the other Excel actions either. I apologize for the inconvenience.




 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 04/04/2012 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AdamFoisey
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/06/2011

Answer Answer
Looks like we will need to remove the password prior to automate grabbing the file.
Thank you for the quick response Leonard.

 Category Survey
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1288 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1288 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog