Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Keystrokes Not Being Sent When Windows 7 PC Locked
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/14/2013 10:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/14/2013 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IvanCurkovic
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/28/2010

Hello,

I am hoping someone can help me. I recently moved all my tasks from a Windows XP machine to a Windows 7 machine (installed 7.1.3). The transition was mostly painless, with the only exception being that my tasks will not run properly when the PC is locked. It runs but it seems that the send keystrokes function does not work in Windows 7 (I am trying to activate an accelerator [i.e. Alt-p] within an Excel file that was opened using the run command).

Other details...

* I have checked Enable software SAS (Vista & Windows 2008) to true
* I have enabled Secure Attention Sequence within the Local Group Policy Editor
* I have enabled UAC settings

Logon is set to:
When workstation is logged on: Logged on user
When workstation is logged off: Logon specified user
When workstation is locked: Unlock using specified user

Run with highest privileges is set to true.

Thanks in advance for any help!

 Category Survey
 01/15/2013 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Ivan,

Are you able to watch the logon process outside of Remote Desktop?

If you are able to watch the logon sequence can you please confirm if Control+Alt+Delete is being sent successfully?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 01/16/2013 06:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IvanCurkovic
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/28/2010

Hi Ricardo,

Originally, I did not see a logon process but as of this morning, I finally see it occurring (AMLogin.aml runs).

The keystroke problem seems to have disappeared.

The problem now is that my script cannot detect a folder on the server even though it exists. I am using the UNC pathname (there are no spaces within the path). Even though the folder does exist, my script attempts to create a folder on the network.

Originally I have assigned the path to a variable but even when I hard code the path within the script, it still fails to recognize the folder.

It almost seems like Automate does not have the credentials to the server (the server is on a different domain). Yet when I try to connect to the path using the run command, no issues.

Any clues? Thanks for your response.

 Category Survey


Edited: 01/16/2013 at 06:54 AM by IvanCurkovic
 01/16/2013 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Ivan,

Please post the contents of your task using the Attach Code button in your next reply. We need to review the contents in order to better troubleshoot the issue.


Leonard

 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 01/16/2013 07:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IvanCurkovic
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/28/2010

Here you go. Thank you.

 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 01/16/2013 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Ivan,

What is the exact error message that you are receiving and on which step?




 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 01/16/2013 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IvanCurkovic
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/28/2010

I get a problem at line 28. Could not create folder path (Code 27214). It is supposed evaluate line 26 (to see if FileLocation exists). It does exist but the script does not seem to think so. It attempts to create the folder and that is where it ends.

 Category Survey
 01/17/2013 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IvanCurkovic
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/28/2010

Just an FYI...I just upgraded to Version 9.0.3.4 and I get the same problem. The error occurs at line 28 again but this time I get a new message: File System failed (Error : Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.

I have logged on to the particular domain using a different username and password from the one I use to login to the Automate computer. Therefore the Automate machine already has access to the drive it needs. It just seems that this is not enough for Automate. Is there a place I should be storing this other username/password?

Thanks!

 Category Survey


Edited: 01/17/2013 at 05:40 AM by IvanCurkovic
 01/17/2013 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IvanCurkovic
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/28/2010

I think I solved the problem. I simply put the credentials for the other domain in the Service User section and it worked!

Just hate the fact that I will have to update the password every 45 days or so.

 Category Survey
 01/17/2013 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IvanCurkovic
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 20
Joined: 07/28/2010

I think I spoke too soon. I am still having issues connecting to directories on a different domain.

 Category Survey
 01/17/2013 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Ivan,

Does the user the task itself is running as (from the Logon Properties) have access to these network locations? Please provide as much information as possible so that we can better assist you

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2005 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2005 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog