Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Task Builder 100% CPU Usage
Topic Summary: blank line comment in task causing task builder to use 100% CPU
Created On: 06/03/2014 02:24 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/03/2014 02:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SanjivTandon
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2013

Hi,

When we open an existing task within task builder the CPU usage on the machine hits 100% cpu usage almost instantly and the system becomes unresponsive.

It looks like it is something to do with empty comments/blank lines. If I create a brand new task and add an empty comment using Insert->Add comment the scrollbar at the bottom of the screen "shrinks" as if the line is being filled up and then the CPU maxs out at 100% CPU.

If I create a new task and add a comment and put "test" in it then all fine everything behaves as expected. If I modify an existing task that contains blank comments and replace them with some words instead then all fine everything behaves as expected.

I've had it confirmed by the appropriate team that there have been no windows updates/patches in the recent past.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version: 7.1.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2
 06/03/2014 01:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Sanjiv,

I am not able to reproduce this issue in our latest version of AutoMate 7 version 7.1.3.

Would it be possible to upgrade to the latest version of AutoMate 7?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 06/05/2014 02:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SanjivTandon
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2013

Hi Ricardo,
The issue has been resolved and is caused by the word wrap view option being switched off. On switching this back on the task builder no longer causes the cpu to max out at 100%!
Regards,
Sanjiv


 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version: 7.1.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2
 06/05/2014 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Sanjiv,

Would it be provide one of the tasks that is causing the issue? We would like to reproduce it internally and make sure the issue does not exist in the newer versions of AutoMate.




 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 06/06/2014 01:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SanjivTandon
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/24/2013

Hi Leonard,

 

I can confirm that the issue does not exist in BPA9 Server.

We have numerous tasks that were in our Automate 7 instance that are now in our BPA9 Server instances and word wrap being on/off has no effect on the CPU in those instances.

 

Regards,

Sanjiv



 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version: 7.1.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1238 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1238 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog