Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: random errors?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/16/2009 03:31 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/16/2009 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
A@P
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 80
Joined: 05/21/2007

Almost daily I seem to be getting AM errors. Today its a "aaplication error"....instruction at XXX referenced memory at XXX. The memory could not be written bla bla bla.

I have had "abnormal program terminations", eaccessviolations, as well as another one that I forget what it was called.

Anybody else?

 Category Survey
 04/16/2009 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Are there specific tasks running when the errors occur or is it intermittent and across the entire product?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 04/16/2009 04:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
A@P
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 80
Joined: 05/21/2007

Seems random due to different times of day and different errors, but it is possible its related to one task that run. Ill keep eye on whats erroring.

Just curious as to if others noticed an increase in AM program errors.

For some reason the AM logs are helping less in AM7....most of the time when there was a AM crash I cant go back through the logs to see what actually happened. Either nothing shows up in the log, there is no step number where the tasked stopped at, etc.

 Category Survey
 04/17/2009 08:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Another helpful place to look for clues after problems occur is the Windows Event Viewer. Do you notice any errors logged there when you encounter problems?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 04/20/2009 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
A@P
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 80
Joined: 05/21/2007

Never checked before. There are some errors:

Attempt to establish local pipe "\\.\pipe\AM7EMPipe" failed with code 997

Attempt to wait and establish pipe from AMEM to Service timed out with code 121


Mostly the second one. Any idea what that is related to?

 Category Survey
 04/24/2009 08:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Allen,

Can you in anyway match the timing of the pipe errors with a specific task that might be scheduled around the same time? This error message is usually caused when AM7EM.exe starts and AM7TS.exe is not started. For the most part, these error messages in Event Viewer are more of a logging message than a real error. If it was a real error, you would know because hotkey and window watcher triggers would no longer function. That's what actually uses the pipe. It's the communication channel between the AM7EM and the AM7TS.

It's possible that if you encountered the referenced memory or eaccess violations, if may have put AM7TS.exe in a hung state. In this case, logging off and logging back on will cause the pipe messages. You will need to either reboot the machine or end the AM7TS.exe process in order to restore the pipe.

I believe we need to determine what is causing the initial error messages you are seeing on the desktop, which in turn should alleviate the pipe error messages too.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 10/19/2012 01:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GrahamBrigden
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/19/2012

HI,

was this ever resolved? We have started getting the same problem. Looking at event viewer against the task log, this morning for example, there was no job running when event log showed AM7 failed.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 7 version: 7.1.3
Windows version: Windows 2008 R2
 10/19/2012 02:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Graham,

Can you please confirm what version of AutoMate 7 you are running?

Do you have any errors in the Windows Event Viewer?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1471 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1471 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog