Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Text Formating
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/21/2012 05:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2012 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sushiradio
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/19/2008

When sending keystrokes they appear only in plain text.
is there a way to have text formated such Bold italic or highlight?

 Category Survey
 05/22/2012 12:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Sushiradio,
this depends on the target application.
The control characters are to be included in the keystrokes you send. For instance if the destination is Word
this{CTRL}b that{CTRL}i other
would type "that" in bold and "other" italic

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/22/2012 04:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sushiradio
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/19/2008

Its web form, so {CTRL}b triggers a bookmarking. And i cant use HTML in that form. Any other option?

 Category Survey
 05/22/2012 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

But if you type manually, how do you make the bold and italic ?
The Send keystrokes could hopefully perform the very same keystrokes.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/22/2012 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sushiradio
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/19/2008

You right, but when i copy bold text from microsoft word to the web form it appears bold right away.

 Category Survey
 05/23/2012 12:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Copying from MS Word to the clipboard does in fact put the text into the clipboard in a variety of formats, like rtf or html. When pasting to the web form it takes the most appropriate of them.
You earlier said you "cant use HTML in that form". Anyhow did you try typing b and i tags ? Or sending keystrokes that include them ?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/24/2012 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sushiradio
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 9
Joined: 09/19/2008

tried tags, they will appear same way in a form tag open -text- tag close. Can automate copy clipboard with that extra information in text?


 Category Survey
 05/24/2012 08:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

I'm not sure (rather dubious) that using Automate Clipboard actions it will populate the right format.

But if you can do it manually (copy/paste) then the Ctl+C and Ctl+V keystrokes can also do it from "send keystrokes" actions, since these shortcuts are Windows shortcuts, that have nothing to do with any Automate limitation.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2032 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2032 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog