Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Determining if XP Workstation is Locked
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/24/2012 08:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/24/2012 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark Durrant
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/05/2007

Hi,

Does anyone know of a way to detect if the XP workstation is in a locked state or not?

Thanks!
Mark

 Category Survey
 07/24/2012 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Mark,

Are you looking for an action that will determine whether or not the machine is locked? We do not have a trigger for this. If a machine is locked and a task triggers, Automate will try to unlock the machine if the logon properties are set to do so.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 07/24/2012 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark Durrant
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/05/2007

Originally posted by: Liz Casale (N.A.)

Are you looking for an action that will determine whether or not the machine is locked? We do not have a trigger for this. If a machine is locked and a task triggers, Automate will try to unlock the machine if the logon properties are set to do so.


Hi Liz,

Yes, I didn't see a trigger for that. However I could probably workaround that if there was a way to tell in the steps whether the machine is locked. I could then loop my task and do one thing if the machine is locked and something else if it's not.

Can you think of a way to do that?

Thanks,
Mark



 Category Survey
 07/24/2012 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Mark,

If the logon properties are set to unlock the machine then the machine will already be unlocked when the task is running. The task will know the machine is then unlocked and carry out the steps.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 07/24/2012 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mark Durrant
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/05/2007

Right, but the point is that I want to be able to determine in my task whether the machine is locked or unlocked then branch and do different things depending on whether it's locked or not. I don't need (or want) the task to unlock the PC. Does that make sense?

 Category Survey
 07/31/2012 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Mark,

Based ONLY on triggering events, the following 2 trigger variables are populated:

%AMTrigger.WasLocked%
%AMTrigger.WasLoggedOff%

The values would be 1 for true and 0 for false.




 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/01/2012 05:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

I'm afraid none of these features are available in AutoMate 6.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 08/01/2012 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Jean,

Are you referring to %AMTrigger.WasLocked% and %AMTrigger.WasLoggedOff%? Both are available and functioning in AM6.






 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/11/2013 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Poshiden
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 38
Joined: 01/08/2013

This thread has been helpful. I'm wondering, is this process the same for non-windows XP?

Does anyone have an example of this being used as the OP mentioned?



 Category Survey
 02/14/2013 07:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

The information provided applies to all supported versions of Windows.




 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2375 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2375 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog