Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: FTPS Issues
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/14/2007 12:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/14/2007 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesBednar
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/13/2006

Having trouble getting FTPS to work on 6.2.1.

I can connect to the FTPS site via Filezilla (Port 990, SSL Implicit) just fine, but Automate fails with the following error:

Could not log on user "Error connecting with SSL.".

I've attempted every permutation of options (Encrypt data channel, Ignore invalid server certificates, active/passive, etc).

I'm stumped.  I try with Filezilla and it just works fine, with Automate nothing happens.

Help!


-------------

<AMFTPLOGIN SERVER="xxxx" USERNAME="xxxx" PASSWORD="xxxx" PORT="990" TYPE="ftps_implicit" IGNOREINVALIDCERTIFICATE="YES">

jb



 Category Survey
 09/14/2007 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesBednar
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/13/2006

Should also mention I tried logging.. Log file is created, but sits at zero bytes.

jb



 Category Survey
 09/17/2007 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ronak Patel
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 967
Joined: 07/20/2006

Hi JamesBednar,

Have you tried turning on the Passive Mode Option...?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
// Ronak Patel,
// Automate Development Team
// Network Automation, Inc. - No Code, No Limits Business Process Automation
 09/20/2007 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesBednar
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/13/2006

We've tried both active and passive, no luck.  Behavior doesn't change based on either of those options.

We're dead in the water here.

Can anyone help?



 Category Survey
 09/20/2007 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ronak Patel
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 967
Joined: 07/20/2006

Hi JamesBednar,

Does normal FTP works?
What type of FTP Server you are trying to connect?
Use sample FTP Client provided with Automate to test out all different FTP connection types and let me know which one works.

You might also have to provide certificate to login on to that server. It depends on the Server, try other FTP Clients like CuteFTP and let us about your experiment.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
// Ronak Patel,
// Automate Development Team
// Network Automation, Inc. - No Code, No Limits Business Process Automation
 09/21/2007 05:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesBednar
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/13/2006

Normal FTP works just fine, the bulk of our tasks use normal FTP.  However, we need to transition a subset of our tasks to FTPS, therein lies the problem.

We're connecting to a Mainframe-based FTP server developed by CSI International.

http://www.e-vse.com/CSI-International.htm

We've tried two FTPS clients with this server, Filezilla and another (I don't have the name off hand), but both are able to connect and function without issue.

Filezilla seems to work perfectly, no issues at all, but Automate simply refuses to respond.

James



 Category Survey
 09/21/2007 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ronak Patel
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 967
Joined: 07/20/2006

Hi JamesBednar,

1) Can you post the log?
2) Try to put this two step after your login step. Let me know if this solves the problem.

<AMFTPADVANCED FTPCOMMAND="user_defined" PARAMETER="PBSZ 0">
<AMFTPADVANCED FTPCOMMAND="user_defined" PARAMETER="PROT C">

PBSZ

Overview
The PBSZ command is an SSL/FTP Security Extension (RFC 2228) command used to specify the size of the protected buffer on an SSL connection.

Format
PBSZ <size><crlf>

Returns

200 - Command successful.
421 - The server is off-line or is going off-line.
501 - Syntax error in parameters or arguments. This usually results from an invalid or missing file name.
502 - SSL not enabled on this server.
503 - Bad sequence of commands. Must be used in conjunction with a secure SSL channel established during an SSL session.
530 - No user is currently authenticated on the command channel.


PROT

Overview
The PROT command is an SSL/FTP Security Extension (RFC 2228) command used to specify the protection level for an SSL data connection. The following protection levels are supported:

C - Clear
S - Safe
E - Confidential
P - Private

Format
PROT <protection-level><crlf>



Returns

200 - Command successful.
421 - The server is off-line or is going off-line.
501 - Syntax error in parameters or arguments. This usually results from an invalid or missing file name.
502 - SSL not enabled on this server.
503 - Bad sequence of commands. Must be used in conjunction with a secure SSL channel established during an SSL session.
530 - No user is currently authenticated on the command channel.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
// Ronak Patel,
// Automate Development Team
// Network Automation, Inc. - No Code, No Limits Business Process Automation

Edited: 09/21/2007 at 09:44 AM by Ronak Patel
 09/25/2007 08:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesBednar
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/13/2006

Ronak,

1) Can you post the log?

As I mention above.  The log file is created, but it is 0 bytes, empty.  Automate is not creating a log file, even though I request that it does.

2) Try to put this two step after your login step. Let me know if this solves the problem.

This does not do anything.  The task fails at the FTP connect step:

<AMFTPLOGIN SERVER="xx.xx.xx.xx" USERNAME="XXXX" PASSWORD="1prGy8Z8n7B8=" PORT="990" TYPE="ftps_implicit" LOGFILE="c:\ftplog.txt">

When run in the task builder, I receive the following error:

Could not log on user "Error connecting with SSL.".

Here is the FileZilla log, showing a successful connection:

Status: Connecting to xx.xx.xx.xx:990 ...
Status: Connected with xx.xx.xx.xx:990, negotiating SSL connection...
Status: SSL connection established. Waiting for welcome message...
Response: 220-TCP/IP for VSE External FTPDAEMN 01.05 E 20061010 11.26
Response: Copyright (c) 1995,2006 Connectivity Systems Incorporated
Response: 220 Ready for new user
Command: USER xxxx
Response: 331 User name okay, need password
Command: PASS *****
Response: 230 User logged in, proceed
Command: SYST
Response: 215 VSE system type
Command: FEAT
Response: 211-Supported extensions:
Response: AUTH TLS
Response: PBSZ
Response: PROT
Response: 211 END
Command: PBSZ 0
Response: 200 Command okay
Command: PROT P
Response: 200 Command okay
Status: Connected
Status: Retrieving directory listing...
Command: PWD
Response: 257 ""
Command: TYPE A
Response: 200 Command okay
Command: PASV
Response: 227 Entering Passive Mode (10,101,1,25,16,1)
Command: LIST
Response: 150 File status okay; about to open data connection
Status: SSL connection established
Response: 226 Closing data connection
Status: Directory listing successful



 Category Survey
 09/25/2007 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ronak Patel
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 967
Joined: 07/20/2006

Hi JamesBednar,

I am forwarding this issue to the Support Team. They would help you investigate this issue by working with you. Please send an email confirming this problem to support@networkautomation.com in order to open the communication channel.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
// Ronak Patel,
// Automate Development Team
// Network Automation, Inc. - No Code, No Limits Business Process Automation
 09/25/2007 08:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesBednar
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/13/2006

Ronak,

Done.

Thanks for your assistance to date.

James



 Category Survey
 11/28/2007 08:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrankCollette
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 46
Joined: 10/04/2007

Did you ever get a resolution to this problem?  I'm having the same issue.

FTPS works in CoreFTP and Filezilla but no in Automate.  I get the same error that you posted.



 Category Survey


-------------------------
Signed, Frank
><))`>
 12/05/2007 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi FrankCollette,

Are you still experiencing the problem? Can you post your task here or send the .aml file to support@networkautomation.com?

-Leonard

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 12/06/2007 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VirgilVaduva
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 83
Joined: 05/18/2006

I am experiencing the same problem as well. FTPS works fine with WS_FTP but it won't even connect in Automate. It creates a log file but it drops the connection right after the AUTH command. I run it in Explicit mode, port 21 - get the same results with passive enabled or disabled.

In the Automate log I get:

220-Glub Tech Secure FTP Wrapper (v2.5.9.1)
220 Microsoft FTP Service
AUTH TLS
234 AUTH Command OK. Initializing SSL connection.
Disconnected.

If you guys could look into it I would appreciate it. We have business processes that depend on this and I really hate installing third-party applications to run where Automate fails to deliver. Not cool...

 Category Survey
 12/18/2007 07:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JamesBednar
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 14
Joined: 12/13/2006

We were never able to get it to work properly, even with tech support.

We were able to get the tasks to work by using a command-line tool called cURL to handle the transfer.



 Category Survey
 01/19/2012 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardSchissler
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/21/2011

I am experiencing a simialr issue as well error from Automate. I can get to work with WS_FTP PRO, but not automate some kind of cert error?

FTP Error : Fatal error 'BadRecordMac' has been reported by the remote connection end.

 



 Category Survey
 01/19/2012 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Originally posted by: RichardSchissler

I am experiencing a simialr issue as well error from Automate. I can get to work with WS_FTP PRO, but not automate some kind of cert error?







FTP Error : Fatal error 'BadRecordMac' has been reported by the remote connection end.




 




Richard,

Are you running AM6? If not please create a new forum thread under the appropriate version of AM you are running. Each version of Automate has a different or updated FTP component and we need to be sure we are troubleshooting the correct version.




 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2351 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2351 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog