Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Reading Cell from Excel
Topic Summary: just read the value
Created On: 06/30/2008 06:41 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/30/2008 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tefu
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 06/13/2008

Hi guys,

I have a task that read an excel spreadsheet, the problem that I have is when reading the excel that has a link to another spread sheet
This is the sample of one of them in the field
=UPPER('P:\NrPortbl\[27801_1.XLS]Sorting Sheet'!I5)

The problem is it pops up a windows message asking if you want to update or not.

My question is, is that possible to read just the value or open the excel file without having that pop up message on the screen? Because when it's opened with the pop up message, it halted the rest of the scheduler that I have running as well in Automate6, and when that task schedule kicks in again (setup every 10 min) it opens up the same file (in read-only), and it can opens up like 50+ of them if I don't close them.

Just wondering what will be the best solution for this?



 Category Survey
 07/01/2008 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

tefu,
When I open in Automate an Excel with references to another one like
='C:\Documents and Settings\Jean\Bureau\[x2.xls]Feuil1'!$A$1
it does not prompt for an update.
Maybe this is due to a parameter in the Worksheet Tools/Options/Calculation where I check "Update Outside References", which would automatically do it, along with "Record values of outside links"

How are those settings in your case ?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 07/02/2008 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tefu
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 06/13/2008

Hi Jean,

where can you find this option "Update Outside References"?

I went to the excel option, under Calculation tab, it has update remote references ticked, so I unticked it. But still asking for the update.

Cheers,

Steven



 Category Survey
 07/02/2008 11:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Steven,
the "update remote references" must be the same one I named "outside" which was a translation from my French version of Excel.
I currently have no further idea how to avoid the dialog.
But it must be possible to acknowledge the dialog with Automate.

If the Excel step completes before the dialog window is acknowledged, a IFWINDOWEXISTS would take care

but if the Excel step hangs until the dialog is acknowledged, another strategy is necessary : another task must be started to acknowledge it, either launched by the main task before the Excel step, or an independent task triggered by the dialog window.

As I cannot reproduce the problem I cannot really experiment myself. Could you tell me precisely the sequence of events that you see.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 09/16/2012 10:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
J.t.Franklin
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/16/2012

where are my lines for formulas



 Category Survey
 09/17/2012 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

JtFranklin,
what do you mean ? Could you explain more precisely what you are missing ?

 Category Survey
AutoMate 6 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2046 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2046 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog