Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: System Queries Being Generated During SQL Connection
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/13/2015 02:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/13/2015 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ClarenceTerry
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/13/2015

I have an Automate script that is connecting to a Teradata database via an ODBC connection and submitting a simple SELECT query.
I'm finding that when I check the query logs there are additional (system) queries being generated, some of which are giving errors and driving my DBA crazy. The results of these queries arent returned to the script so I had no idea they were occuring until it was brought to my attention.
For example the following query

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version: 8.0.9
Windows version: Windows 2008 R2


Edited: 07/14/2015 at 02:05 PM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 07/15/2015 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello Clarence,

We apologize for the inconvenience, there was a problem with this thread. It has since been fixed, but your query was not able to be recovered.

Is it possible to repost your query once more please?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 07/16/2015 08:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ClarenceTerry
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/13/2015

Thank you, Alex. Makes sense now why I couldn't reply or edit the post.

I've pasted below the queries that appear in the query log. The only query actually run by my script is number 2 in the list. The others seem to be automatically generated (possibly by the ODBC connection itself). The last two (numbers 5 and 6) are actually returning errors.

1) HELP SESSION
2) SELECT * FROM TEST_DB.FL_UTL WHERE id_jb = '8410' AND id_jb_sub = '01'
3) SELECT * FROM TEST_DB.FL_UTL WHERE id_jb = '8410' AND id_jb_sub = '01'
4) SELECT INDEXTYPE,COLUMNNAME,COLUMNPOSITION, INDEXNAME FROM DBC.INDICESV WHERE INDEXTYPE = 'K' AND DATABASENAME = 'TESTADMIN' and TABLENAME = 'FL_UTL'
5) HELP INDEX "TESTADMIN"."FL_UTL"
6) HELP INDEX "TESTADMIN"."FL_UTL"

 

The error for both is: Object TESTADMIN.FL_UTL' does not exist.

It's right, that object doesn't exist. I don't know why its trying to run a help index for that particular combo in the first place.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version: 8.0.9
Windows version: Windows 2008 R2


Edited: 07/16/2015 at 08:27 AM by ClarenceTerry
 07/16/2015 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Clarence,

There is no capacity for AutoMate to arbitrarily create query syntax as specific as what you are showing in your last post. Would it be possible to attach your task so we can review the contents? In your reply, please use the Attach Code button to paste the contents of the task.




 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 07/17/2015 06:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ClarenceTerry
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/13/2015

I've attached the script. It only has the one query in it.

Thank you



 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version: 8.0.9
Windows version: Windows 2008 R2


fl_utl.aml
fl_utl.aml  (9 KB)

 07/23/2015 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Clarence,

Do you have any constants configured with the same name as the variable being referenced in your SQL query? Have you tried putting the SQL query string in the step as opposed to a variable reference to see if there is a different output?




 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 969 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 969 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog