Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Not Able To Import/Restore From Automate 8 Backup
Topic Summary: Automate 8 Backed Up Taks Not Showing In Task Administrator & Not Importing From backup
Created On: 08/29/2017 05:10 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/29/2017 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dhira
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 105
Joined: 05/15/2006

I used to have a fully functioning Automate 8 set up, and I backed up my tasks religiously.
A couple of months back, I installed the tasks on my new computer, and everything was fine. Then I replaced the laptop computer with a new one and installed Automate on it, and no matter how many times I try to restore from the backup, The tasks are missing and cannot be imported at all.

The funny thing is I had it installed on a desktop as well, and all the tasks have disappeared from the desktop as well.

I still have the backup, but no way of improting and using them..

    Current Laptop: Windows 10 Home

    HP Spectre

    Automate Version: 8.0.9.0


The closest thread I can find to this are:
    http://forums.networkautomation.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=41&threadid=10453
    http://forums.networkautomation.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=41&threadid=9207

And even then, I wonder if it has to do with the fact that my IP address has changed? But it is bizzare that neither computer (Laptop or Desktop - both Windows 10) can import or show the tasks, when the Desktop could previously.

Help appreciated. Thanks.

 Category Survey
 08/30/2017 07:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Dhira,

How have you been backing up your tasks? Were you using the backup functionality in AutoMate where it creates a .ama file or were you backing up the task folder on the hard drive only which consisted of .aml files? If at one time you did see the tasks in Task Administrator and now they are not listed then it's possible that the .atl file has become corrupted or deleted. We will need more specifics as to how you backup your installations first before we can proceed.




 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/30/2017 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dhira
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 105
Joined: 05/15/2006

Originally posted by: Leonard Amabile

Dhira,



How have you been backing up your tasks? Were you using the backup functionality in AutoMate where it creates a .ama file or were you backing up the task folder on the hard drive only which consisted of .aml files? If at one time you did see the tasks in Task Administrator and now they are not listed then it's possible that the .atl file has become corrupted or deleted. We will need more specifics as to how you backup your installations first before we can proceed.


Hi leonard,
Yes I have been backing up with the .ama file functionality. Religiously.
I was backing up on my hard drive and saving it elsewhere.
Using the backup I have been able to completely restore the tasks on other computers, and it always worked.
I still have the ama file, but as I said, when I use the 'restore' function, no tasks are imported.

 Category Survey
 08/31/2017 09:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mary Manzano
HelpSystems

Posts: 280
Joined: 03/10/2014

Hello Dhira,

 

Please email Automate.Support@helpsystems.com and reference the forum post and provide the .ama file so that we can test in house along with the version of Automate you are using. 



 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Mary Manzano | Technical Consultant
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/31/2017 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dhira
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 105
Joined: 05/15/2006

Thank you Mary,

Email has been sent, along with .ama file of backed up tasks.

 Category Survey
 09/01/2017 07:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

We will open a case for you on contact you through the Case. Once the issue is resolved we will update the forum post.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 10/05/2017 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
YahooService
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/04/2017

Hello, I have a problem that I am unable To Import/Restore From Automate 8 Backup. All-time its shows error.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 8 version:
Windows version:


Edited: 10/05/2017 at 07:54 AM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 10/05/2017 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Originally posted by: YahooService

Hello, I have a problem that I am unable To Import/Restore From Automate 8 Backup. All-time its shows error.


What is the error message? What version of v8 and what version are you trying to import into?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1171 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1171 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog