Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AM8: Oracle 11g OLE DB errors
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/13/2011 02:14 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/13/2011 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

AM8 cannot seem to find the Oracle components to create SQL Connections.

Oracle 11.2 Server is installed on the machine, just because we need the client + wrap.exe for other processes, and sql connections work via sqlplus.

Error from AM8 System --> Options--> SQL Connections when attempting to add a connection via either Microsoft OLD DB Provider for Oracle:

"Microsoft Data Link Error

Test connection failed because of an error in initializing provider. Oracle client and networking components were not found. These components are supplied by Oracle Corporation and are part of the Oracle Version 7.3.3 or later client software installation.

Provider is unable to function until these components are installed."

I can create and successfully test ODBC data sources from the Data Source Admin on the server.  I have System DSNs that work.  And it shows the valid Oracle ODBC driver in Drivers.  OUI also shows Oracle Provider for OLE DB 11.2.0.1.0 installed successfully.

When attempting to use Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers, I can see a User DSN under Connections/Use data source name.  The User DSN tested successfully under Win ODBC Admin, but testing the connection from Automate returns:
"Test connection failed because of an error in initializing provider. [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] The specified DSN contains an architecture mismatch between the Driver and Application"

Is this an Automate 8 error, an Oracle error or something awry on the Windows Server?



 Category Survey
 09/13/2011 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Craig,

What Windows Operating System are you running?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 09/13/2011 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard 64-bit on dev and test

Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise 64-bit on prod

Same issue on all three tiers.



 Category Survey
 09/13/2011 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Craig,

Would you be able to paste your ODBC connection string to this forum post?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 09/13/2011 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JacobusPieters
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 434
Joined: 07/24/2006

Are you attempting to use the 64-bit Oracle drivers?

You have to use the 32-bit Oracle drivers to be able to communicate with AutoMate.

 Category Survey
 09/13/2011 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

AM8 won't accept any string or data source name.

DRIVER={Oracle in OraDb11g_home1};UID=stgmgr;PWD=<pw>;DBQ=AVT77;DBA=W;

see screenshot for validation that driver is indeed correct.

tnsnames.ora is correct.  tnsping is fine.  sqlplus sessions work.

C:\>sqlplus stgmgr/----------@avt77

SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.1.0 Production on Tue Sep 13 15:36:23 2011

Copyright (c) 1982, 2010, Oracle.  All rights reserved.


Connected to:
Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition Release 11.2.0.2.0 - 64bit Production
With the Partitioning, Automatic Storage Management, OLAP, Data Mining
and Real Application Testing options

SQL> select sysdate from dual;

SYSDATE
---------
13-SEP-11

screenshot.637.jpg shows that an ODBC connection using that driver does work successfully with the same user.

But using that same working data source doesn't work in AM8. screenhost.638.jpg

"Microsoft Data Link Error:

Test connection failed because of an error in initializing provider. [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] The specific DSN contains an architecture mismatch between the Driver and Application"

...and Application.  I noticed that AM8 doesn't list the Oracle driver in Provider list.  Where does it get it's info for what is available?  When first testing AM8 on our Windows 2003 SP2 Server, the "Oracle Provider for OLE DB" was listed in OLE DB Provider(s) and worked.  We're moving to W2K8 now.

 



 Category Survey


Click for full image
Click for larger image
Click for full image
Click for larger image
Click for full image
Click for larger image

 09/13/2011 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

We don't tend to require ODBC in any other area, so I can only assume this is a 32 bit driver.  Mainly based on the ODBC Admin stating the driver file is SQORA32.DLL.  That makes me think it is a 32 bit driver.

We're seeing nuances with the move to Windows 2008 Server.  I would have to see if installing the 32 bit version of Oracle would work.

There's all kinds of info about 11g, 64bit, Windows -- having issues here and there in general.  Any experience or other insight is greatly appreciated.



 Category Survey
 09/13/2011 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

To clarify, the databases are not local.  These servers are our app servers for our supply chain planning system, plus we manage our batch processes (mainly with Perl, but hopefully to be replaced 100% by AM8).

The databases reside on separate dedicated Oracle servers.

We install the Oracle Server (Personal) only because we need wrap.exe available for some installation procedures that the vendor requires wrap for.



 Category Survey
 09/13/2011 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

I think I might try this.

64 bit for our wrap needs.

32 bit client for the odbc.  Interesting that I opened the odbcad32.exe as mentioned and there is no Oracle ODBC driver listed.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/sqldataaccess/thread/5ab5664f-cd68-40ab-8c31-fc99eccf7ce4/

I'll see if that helps.



 Category Survey
 09/13/2011 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Craig,

I also saw this article. Please let me know your results.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 09/13/2011 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CraigKorinko
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 40
Joined: 08/14/2007

OK installing the 32 bit client did work.  I installed the RunTime version of the client and did manage to get a SQL Connection confirmed.

I think we're going to look at just installing the 32 bit 11g Server and seeing how that goes.  We're a bit iffy on having a 64 bit server and 32 bit client install on the same machine.  That just sounds like a problem waiting to happen and unless there's a performance difference, 32 bit should be fine.

If someone needs to run and/or access a 64 bit Oracle Server - you have to use the 32 bit installs of Oracle for Automate to see the correct 32 bit ODBC driver.  Makes sense in hindsight.  But opening the ODBC Admin on Windows 2008 Server ... confuses things.  The one accessed from the Start Menu appears to list 64 bit ODBC drivers and you have to 1) know about and 2) know where to find the C:\Windows\SysWOW64\odbcad32.exe to verify there's a 32 bit ODBC driver available.

 



 Category Survey
 09/13/2011 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JacobusPieters
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 434
Joined: 07/24/2006

The 'Architecture mismatch' is the clue in this case that you are attempting to use a 64-bit driver with 32-bit AutoMate.
That is also the reason why you did not see Oracle driver in the provider list for AM8, since you did not have the 32 bit driver available.


 Category Survey
 09/25/2013 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RyanCarbello
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

I have similar problem, but I get a different error



 Category Survey
 09/26/2013 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
N i c k
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 183
Joined: 03/11/2006

I the same exact issue when I tried installing 64-bit and tried using with Automate.

I resolved by doing the following.

Removed 64 bit (Oracle Instant Client)

Download and install 32 bit oracle client. After installing and setting up env var for example path and tns_admin. Restart machine. Open Automate TA and go over to system options and add new connections.

Env var for path should be auto setup as part of Oracle client setup. The trick to getting it to work was making sure TNS_ADMIN was set and you must restart.

If nothing else try restarting the machine.


PS. I also had some issues with trying to build the connection string from AMTA and/or AMTB so created connection string and copied and pasted in Automate.

After I added the String it still didn't work so I Restarted the Automate Service and it started working.


Sample of connection string.

Provider=OraOLEDB.Oracle.1;Password=MYPASSWORD;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=MYUSERNAME;Data Source=MYDATABASENAME

 Category Survey
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1810 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1810 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog