Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Excel process continuing to run after Excel is closed
Topic Summary: Following upgrade to BPA Server 8.0.9.0, the Excel process continues to run after the Excel workbook is closed.
Created On: 03/27/2012 08:30 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/27/2012 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hi,
I am testing a simple automate workflow that opens an existing Excel spreadsheet, runs a query, puts data in the spreadsheet and closes the spreadsheet. I started getting errors that the spreadsheet was opening in read only mode and couldn't figure out why. I looked at the Task Manager and saw there were multiple excel.exe processes still running. Has anyone else experienced this? Any idea how to fix it? I've attached the code. Thanks for your help! Becki

 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 03/27/2012 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Becki,

Are you running the task from the Task Builder or the Task Administrator when you are getting the error? You do want to make sure other instances of Excel are closed in most cases. Also, the code you attached does not appear to be the steps from BPA Server 8. Could you please try attaching the code once more?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 03/27/2012 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hi,
I was running it from Task Builder. Should I put in a step to kill the excel.exe process? I've reattached the code. Hopefully it's in the correct format. I had copied it to Notepad++ before and it brought along all the escape characters. Sorry about that!

Thanks,
Becki

 Category Survey
 03/27/2012 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

I'm getting an 'access denied' error trying to attach the code, so I'll put it here:






12:00:00
23:59:59






{CTRL}{END}{ENTER}{LEFT}{LEFT}{LEFT}


select count(CallLog.CallID) as TicketCount
From HEAT.dbo.CallLog
Where CallLog.RecvdDate = '%dt_Yesterday_CCYYMMDD%' and CallLog.RecvdTime Between '%startTime%' and '%endTime%'


select count(CallLog.FCR) as closedFirstContact
From HEAT.dbo.CallLog
Where CallLog.RecvdDate = '%dt_Yesterday_CCYYMMDD%' and CallLog.RecvdTime Between '%startTime%' and '%endTime%' and CallLog.FCR='Yes'




{ALT}{F8}{ENTER}


Attached is the HEAT Daily Ticket Count report.

Thanks!



 Category Survey
 03/28/2012 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Becki,

Can you please open the SMC, locate this workflow, right click on the workflow and select Export? Save the workflow, .ampkg. Then attach it to this post. This will help us review your steps/WF properties.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 03/28/2012 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Becki, in doing what Liz requests, don't forget to rename the ampkg file to txt, or zip it, since ampkg files are not welcome as attachments on the forum.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 03/28/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hi,
Sorry for all the confusion. I originally "thought" I had attached it as a .ampkg file, not realizing that would be a problem. I've zipped it and attached that to the post. Thanks much!

 Category Survey
 03/28/2012 04:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Becki,

Thank you for attaching the code. I'm not able to duplicate the 'read only' message. Could we schedule a GoToAssist session to review this on your machine? Please send a list of your availability to support@networkautomation.com and reference this forum post.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 03/29/2012 08:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hi Liz,
I tried to duplicate it yesterday afternoon and I couldn't either. Another user was having a similar problem and she couldn't duplicate it either. All of the Automate machines were rebooted yesterday afternoon as part of weekly maintenance, so perhaps that cleared up whatever was going on. I'm comfortable with saying this problem has resolved itself, and if it comes up again, I'll re-open the post. Thanks so much Liz! Have a great day!
~ Becki

 Category Survey
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1480 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1480 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog