Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Failed to get data for 'SoftwareSASGeneration'
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/21/2012 03:26 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2012 03:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JanloUngerer
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 36
Joined: 10/28/2011

Automate is giving the following error. We cannot open or re-install it can you please assist.

Failed to get data for 'SoftwareSASGeneration'

 Category Survey
 05/21/2012 06:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Janlo,

Another application has created a corrupt SoftwareSASGeneration registry key that Automate cannot read or change. Please delete the following registry string:


HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System\SoftwareSASGeneration


The other application added it as a String Value rather than a DWORD Value. Once you have deleted the corrupt key, please reinstall Automate. You may experience the problem again when this application adds back the incorrect key. If you are able to determine the application, please let us know so we can contact the developer.





 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/21/2012 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GavinDuxbury
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 53
Joined: 11/25/2008

Morning All
Further to Janlo's post above, we did eventually manage to narrow it down to two applications that were installed the day Automate stopped working:

Windows Agent, publisher: N-able Technologies, version 8.2.0.1268
UltraVNC 1.0.6.4

Removing above apps, deleting the reg key, and recreating with a DWORD, fixed Automate 8

Hope this assists


 Category Survey
 05/23/2012 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Janlo,

Were you able to delete the registry key to get BPA Server back up and running?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1619 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1619 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog