Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: SharePoint Check-in Functionality (#D4105)
Topic Summary: Having issues with Source and URL syntax
Created On: 05/21/2012 08:41 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2012 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

I'm trying to create a "mass" check-in workflow and I'm getting hung up on the syntax for Source and URL of the SharePoint checkin function. This is on files that already exist in the SharePoint site, so it's basically just checking in existing files. I have attached my current code.

I have replaced my site address with FQDN and username, password, domain as well. Hope this doesn't confuse anyone.

Hopefully this should be a quick fix... Thanks

 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


Edited: 11/02/2012 at 02:08 PM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 05/21/2012 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Cory,
in URL="http://FQDN/mmfaxserver/RC Document Library/%File.Ref%"
Where is File.Ref coming from ?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/21/2012 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

I ended up trying this, since the source and URL are the same... The error that came up: "Could not find a part of the path 'C:\mmfaxserver\RC Document Library\test (23).pdf"

Jean, I believe this may answer your question... basically it's all coming from the dataset that I create in the "get_files" function.

 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 05/21/2012 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

Then I tried the web address for the source and received "Error: URI formats are not supported."

So how do I go about checking-in files that already exist on the SharePoint List or Library? Everything that is in the help or website is all dealing with files that are on c:\ drives...

 Category Survey


Edited: 05/21/2012 at 11:18 AM by CorySwartz
 05/21/2012 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Cory,
my earlier reply was just about syntax.
I have no experience in Sharepoint, and cannot give valuable advice.
I wish somebody else, in N/A, can have a look.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 05/21/2012 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

The source has to be local file, instead of the url on the SharePoint.

Before you check in if the file is already checked in you need to checkout. Then you can check in that file.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/21/2012 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

It has to be a local file? That doesn't make any sense. SharePoint files are not local, so I'm not sure how this function is useful. The source is the file on SharePoint... if I have it on SharePoint, I don't need local files, that's the whole justification of SharePoint.

I'm really confused on how this should function. Or maybe I don't understand what the "Source" file really is. The way I'm understanding it is that the SOURCE (AS2.txt) file overwrites what is at the URL location with the associated COMMENT and then checks the file in. I just want to check a file in, not upload, overwrite, etc. Just a simple check-in of the specified SharePoint file.

EDIT - I was just reading the help file on SharePoint - Check Out, and that's exactly what I want to do with the Check In functionality, just with check-in instead of check-out. Specify a souce file and simply check-in.

 Category Survey


Edited: 05/21/2012 at 01:11 PM by CorySwartz
 05/21/2012 01:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Cory,

Would it be possible to setup a GoToAssist session where we can take a closer look at this issue. If so please send an email to support@networkautomation.com with your availability.

Note: Please reference this forum thread in your email.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 05/24/2012 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Cory,

We can confirm that this is an issue on our end due to the fact that we require the local file rather than it be optional. We will enter this issue into our database and hope to have it addressed as soon as possible. I apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that this has caused.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 11/02/2012 07:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

Following up on this issue. Has this been resolved yet?

EDIT: I forgot this was in BPA8... so my question is, has this been resolved in a BPA9 version?

 Category Survey


Edited: 11/02/2012 at 08:14 AM by CorySwartz
 11/02/2012 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Cory,

Unfortunately this issue has not been fixed but it is in our database and we hope to have the issues resolved as soon as possible. I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1001 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1001 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog