Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BPA 8 is not logging into Windows 2008 R2 system
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/30/2011 11:04 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/30/2011 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardWest
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 255
Joined: 03/30/2005

I have a Windows 2008 R2 system that we have both BPA 7 and BPA 8 agents installed on.

I am in the process of migrating our tasks and workflows to BPA8.

This weekend I was doing some testing on the tasks and discovered a major problem -- BPA 8 does not appear to try and login or unlock the workstation when a workflow is triggered that calls for it to either unock the workstation or login to a workstation with a provided user name and password.

BPA 7 handles this fine.

I have confirmed that the user account that both system are setup to use are them same and the password has been double checked to be entered ocrrectely in BPA 8.

The strange thing is that when I am looking at the actual monitor on the server I can see BPA 7 start a AMLogin.aml task to login to the system. I never see this type of task when BPA 8 is trying to unlock the system, so it would seem that this might be the problem.

Can someone advise on what I need to do to enable BPA 8 to successfully login or unlock a Windows 2008 R2 system? This is holding up my migration plans so I will need to continue t have both BPA 7 and BPA 8 up and running until this is resolved.

As always thanks for any help!

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Richard West

 05/02/2011 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Richard,

Are there any entries written to the Windows Event Viewer when the AMLogon task is not runnning when expected?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation

Edited: 05/04/2011 at 01:42 PM by Rick Johnson
 05/02/2011 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardWest
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 255
Joined: 03/30/2005

I see no error messages in the Windows Event Viewer.

These are the following messages recorded at the time of the reboot and file watcher trigger - which logs in as a specific user - but never happened.


Attempting to connect to AutoMate BPA Server at AutomateBPA on port 8500...
Connection made to AutoMate BPA Server at AutomateBPA on port 8500
Agent authentication of dp-server-1 successful.
Applying agent properties...
Retrieving agent triggering conditions...
Applying agent triggering conditions...
Applying agent triggers applied.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Richard West

 05/04/2011 01:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Richard,

Has this behavior continued after fixing the agent login issue?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 05/04/2011 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardWest
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 255
Joined: 03/30/2005

The behaviour is the same after fixing the agent login issue.

I have a task setup to run as the logged on user, or login as a specific user/unlcok as a specific user if not logged in.

I have logged out of the server console session, and executed the task.

The task just reports as running in the SMC and never completes. It's is a super simple task that normally takes less thatn 1 second to execute. The server is never logged into by Automate using the account that I provided.

Whereas on the same task, under BPA 7, the server is logged into as expected and the task runs fine.

This is still happening after the agent login issue was corrected.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Richard West

 05/05/2011 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Richard,

If you go to the Default Properties under Options in SMC, and open the Default User, is the 'Enable software SAS' box checked? If it is not checked, it would need to be in order to execute the logon.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 05/06/2011 06:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardWest
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 255
Joined: 03/30/2005

The 'Enable sofware SAS' box was checked. I was hoping for a simple solution, but it does not appear that it will be this easy

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Richard West

 05/06/2011 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Richard,

Please run the attached code on the machine having the logon/unlock issue. It will give a display box with parameters that need to match. Let me know the results.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/06/2011 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardWest
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 255
Joined: 03/30/2005

All values matched when running the requested task.



 Category Survey


-------------------------
Richard West

 05/06/2011 07:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Please double-click on the following file on the workstation:

"C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ambpa32.exe"

Does the system send a CTRL ALT DEL sequence?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/06/2011 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RichardWest
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 255
Joined: 03/30/2005

Yes -- the Ctrl -Alt -Del was sent when clicking on that file.



 Category Survey


-------------------------
Richard West

 05/09/2011 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Richard,

If you are open to allowing us to remotely access your system, can you please send an email to support@networkautomation.com with your availablilty for the next few days so a session can be scheduled?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 10/20/2011 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ShannonOake
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/17/2011

Originally posted by: Leonard Amabile (N.A.) Please double-click on the following file on the workstation: "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ambpa32.exe" Does the system send a CTRL ALT DEL sequence?

 

Having the same issues with Automate 8. Have been chasing our tail for days, then realised that issues were only caused after a machine reboot.

Sure enough, checking hte console with vSphere (WMware VM) would show the AMLogin task running but stuck.

As soon as i sent a CTRL+ALT+DEL to the machine (using vSphere) the task continued along fine. So it would seem AMLogin is having issues with that.

Running the above EXE in SYSWOW64 fails to send a CTRL+ALT+DEL to our systems, tested on multiple machines ... any ideas ??



 Category Survey
 10/20/2011 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Shannon,

Please run the attached code in Task Builder and let me know if any of the sections in the output dialog box are not matching.






 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 01/11/2012 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadhusudhanTatineni
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 06/28/2011

I have same kind of issue unable to unlock or logon on windows2008 r2 virtual server , bpa8 .

i did run the script and last one sas Generation getting 0 and it is not matching .

What should i do to match this or what is my next step .

Thanks,

Madhu.



 Category Survey
 01/11/2012 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadhusudhanTatineni
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 06/28/2011

when i ran ampba32.exe getting error

c:\Windows\sysWOW64\ambpa32.exe

A referral was returned from the server.



 Category Survey
 01/11/2012 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Madhu,

Please complete the following.

1. Open the SMC
2. Select Options
3. Select Default Properties
4. Select Default User
5. Add a check for "Enable Software SAS (Vista and Higher)
6. Test your issue and let us know your results

Let us know your results.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 01/12/2012 07:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadhusudhanTatineni
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 12
Joined: 06/28/2011

These already exist and After enabling UAC it is working , now getting different issues this may be not the right thread .

if you can suggest right thread will be appreciated .

The object invoked has disconnected from its clients. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80010108 (RPC_E_DISCONNECTED))

Thanks,

Madhu



 Category Survey
 01/12/2012 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Madhu,

We will review this issue in our scheduled GotoAssist session tomorrow.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 06/20/2012 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

Apologies on dredging up an old thread... We ended up having the same problems as were stated above.

I ran the attached script and ended up with

1 (1)
0 (0)
0 (3)

I have enabled the SAS option in BPA. How do I get Software SAS Generation to match 3? Should I manually edit the registry entry associated with this setting?

 Category Survey
 06/20/2012 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Cory,

Are you running BPA Server 8?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 06/20/2012 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

Yes, BPA Server 8.0.5.1

I've changed the value via regedit and it gets reset back to 0 automatically. I'm guessing this is being controlled via GPO and I am researching with my network/server team. I have also modified it via the GPO snap-in in Microsoft Management Console, which changes it to 3, but then again, it reverts back to 0.

 Category Survey
 06/20/2012 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Cory,

I think you may be on to something. I have seen this behavior before and it was being controlled by the GPO. Unfortunately, we were never informed of the solution.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 11/02/2012 08:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorySwartz
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 133
Joined: 02/11/2010

Digging up this thread from the dead again...

I'm going to be working with our network/server security team on this issue so we can get our BPA7 to BPA9 migration done.

I wanted to validate the following:

- The ambpa32.exe is what's sending the ctrl+alt+del command
- Changing the three BPA9 services to "Allow service to interact with desktop" will NOT fix this problem


Thank you.

 Category Survey
 11/02/2012 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Cory,

Thank you for your post.

Ambpa32.exe is still called by the AMLogon.aml file for BPA Server 9 to send a ctrl-alt-del to the screen.

We do not support changing the Services to run as anything other than the local system account at this time.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1458 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1458 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog