Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Problems with Evaluation Object (#3381, #3382, #3383)
Topic Summary: Evaluation object not working
Created On: 06/23/2011 03:08 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/23/2011 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottSpack
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 41
Joined: 10/10/2005

I have a shared variable SWITCH. It is of type number with a default value = 0

I redeclare this variable inside a task within a workflow.

During the workflow if a condition exists, the value of SWITCH is set = 1, if not it remains 0 throughout the task.

At the end of the task, the last step is to write to file the value of SWITCH

The next step is the Evaluation object which evaluates SWITCH

The connectors do two evaluations (two arrows extending of evaluation object)

if SWITCH = 1 then run task X which will send me a success email.

If switch is "any other value" it runs down the other path and is supposed to run task Y and send me a different email.

The issue I am having is the evaluation object as mentioned above, the value of SWITCH is written to file immediately preceeding the Evaluation object. The proper values are written to the file per my tests.

When the SWITCH = 1 it travels down the path to run TASK X and I get my email.

However,

When the SWITCH = 0 the workflow errors.

I have tried to evaluate SWITCH = 0 and "All other values" and neither test works. The workflow just fails.

Has anyone else experienced such issues? Any ideas?

 Category Survey


Edited: 12/05/2011 at 11:12 AM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 06/23/2011 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Scott,
did you make sure that inside the task the SWITCH variable is declared with the "Treat as parameter" attribute ?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 06/24/2011 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottSpack
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 41
Joined: 10/10/2005

Good morning and thanks for reply.

Yes, I did verfiy that attribute on the create variable




I've also attached a screen capture of the trailing end of the workflow.

The SWITCH variable is also declared as a "shared" variable, type number with a default value = 0


A write to file command shows that the value of the SWITCH variable is being properly set as it 0 for four instances and then set to 1. It does run the proper task when set = 1. (In real world scenario this will be executing a seperate workflow, but for testing I have it call a task that emails me)

This is taken from the file output

6/23/2011 9:09:08 PM ***** 0
6/23/2011 9:13:20 PM ***** 0
6/23/2011 9:13:21 PM ***** 0
6/23/2011 9:13:24 PM ***** 0
6/23/2011 9:14:03 PM ***** 1


Regards
Scott

 Category Survey


Click for full image
Click for larger image

 06/24/2011 05:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottSpack
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 41
Joined: 10/10/2005

I just tried something new with the Evaluation object this morning.

I set the default value of SWITCH to a -1 and the datatype to Auto.

Evaluating for -1 or 1 the workflow now behaves as designed.



Now that the datatype is set to AUTO, I tried resetting the SWITCH default value again to 0. This does NOT provide the behavior desired as the workflow will not follow the proper path.

Resetting the default to -1 and evaluating to -1 works.

This appears to be some form of a bug.

Would you agree?

Regards
Scott

 Category Survey
 06/24/2011 06:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Scott,
from what you say I should be incline in thiking you are right, and that it is a bug.
But this has to be investigated by N/A.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 06/24/2011 06:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ScottSpack
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 41
Joined: 10/10/2005

Jean,

Should I submit the bug, or is that something you handle?

Please advise,
Scott

 Category Survey
 06/24/2011 06:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Normally,
this thread will be read by N/A and they will take care without further action from your part.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 06/24/2011 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Scott,

Using BPA version 8.0.1.10, I am not able to encounter any functional problem with several combinations of settings and evaluations.

Would you be able to export the workflow in question and email it to support@networkautomation.com so we can analyze it here?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 11/25/2011 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnScott
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 231
Joined: 10/27/2010

I am seeing this same behavior here.  In my "real" workflow I'm trying to check "are there any accounts for me to work on today?", but I have duplicated and studied the behavior in a test workflow where I simply assign a value to a shared variable.  When the test variable is set to a value of 0, the workflow errors and neither task downstream of the evaluation runs.

My differences from Mr. Spack's instance:
* I am not trying to (or needing to) redeclare the shared variable within the lead task.
* The error occurs whether zero is the special value I'm looking for in the evaluation Result, or it falls in the default case.

I will export my test workflow and email it to support.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version: 8.0.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2
 11/25/2011 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnScott
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 231
Joined: 10/27/2010

(My current workaround is to use a string variable instead of a numeric one.  It's just inelegant.)



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version: 8.0.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2
 11/25/2011 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

I confirm a (series of) bug(s) with a sample workflow
Task-->Evaluation-->Task

1- When a shared variable is specified as Numeric, with a value of 0, it is still created as a string.
2- When an evaluation is made on the value of that shared variable, and a "Result" arrow gets out of that evaluation with a value 1, this arrow is followed, even though the shared var is equal to 0.
3- When I launch the subject workflow from WFD run button, both tasks run immediately, while the second one should run only after the first one has completed, depending on the result of the evaluation.

I attach a sample workflow export that evidences all three problems.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:





-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 12/05/2011 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

This has been reproduced in BPA8 and BPA9 and has been added into our tracking database for correction.







 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 12/05/2011 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brad Reynolds
HelpSystems

Posts: 150
Joined: 04/18/2006

Jean,

After looking at the workflow, I can at least explain #3. The reason it is running both of them at the same time is because the result arrow isn't attached properly. Notice how the text is grey, not blue? That's an indication (although admittedly a subtle one) that the link isn't attached at both ends. Try snapping it back onto both objects, and things should at least run in the order that's expected.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Brad Reynolds
AutoMate Development Team
Network Automation, Inc. – No Code, No Limits Business Process Automation
 12/05/2011 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Brad,
thank you, you are absolutely right.
The visual was misleading, and the connection to the second task was missing.
In my system the text was indeed gray, while when correctly connected it is now black, not blue.
That's a good thing to check (although "subtle", as you say) when creating a connection, which I did not know of.

And what about the other two items ?
1- the fact that a shared var specified as numeric with value 0 is in fact set as a string remains. Notice that Auto also considers it as a string.
2- the switch following arrow 1 incorrectly when value is 0 seems being "resolved" by the repositioning of the arrow.

Hence regarding my post, only item 1 appears remaining as a bug.

This is in contradiction with the initial post by ScottSpack. It should be nice if he could post (export and attach) a simple workflow that experiences the problem he mentions, since my own attempt did not succeed finally.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4


Edited: 12/05/2011 at 09:52 PM by JeanDelfosse
 12/06/2011 02:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jean,

The other 2 items have been documented as well and are currently being reviewed.







 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/08/2012 06:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeborahWells
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 63
Joined: 07/19/2011

Has this been fixed anywhere yet? I am using 9.0.1.11 and am unable to successfully evaluate a 0 with an evaluation object. The workflow will run through the correct path, but then will just inexplicably fail. Based on this post, I have tried several things, and the 0 seems to be the problem.

 Category Survey
 08/09/2012 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Hi Deborah,

Thank you for your reply. We have tested and verified that this is a bug in Automate/BPA Server. Evaluation object causes workflow to fail when handling a "false" evaluation or 0. The rest of the workflow will complete successfully but still return a workflow failed error message.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
 08/10/2012 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeborahWells
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 63
Joined: 07/19/2011

Thank you Liz - is there an estimate on when this will be fixed? I have had to code around this a lot for the project I am working on.

Thanks,

Deborah.

 Category Survey
 08/10/2012 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Deborah,

This will be corrected in the upcoming release v9.0.2. We are looking towards a release date in September.




 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/12/2012 12:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Deborah,
notice that this will be corrected in BPA 9.0.2 and NOT n BPA 8

A workaround for an evaluation against a 0 could be to evaluate the expression
sharedVar="0"

Could you try it ?



To Leonard,
I tested it also in the A'Team release 9.0.2.6, and it does not work either against a zero shared var value with sharedVar=0, be the sharedVar declared as Auto or Numeric

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4


Edited: 08/12/2012 at 12:34 AM by JeanDelfosse
 08/12/2012 08:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Jean,

The correction is not present in v9.0.2.6, it will be present in v9.0.2.7.




 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/06/2012 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeborahWells
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 63
Joined: 07/19/2011

Jean,

I ended up using Flags (Y/N) that were set before the evalutation objects based on the numerical values I was originally wanting to evaluate. This was an option because I really only needed to evaluate based on 2 threshholds. I just thought it would be niftier to do the calc step as a part of the evaluaton object (vs. in a separate task that then set a flag, just before the evaluation object).

Leonard,

I look forward to this correction. Thank you for keeping me posted.

Thanks so much all,
Deborah.

 Category Survey
 09/06/2012 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Deborah,

Have you had a chance to install BPA Server 9 version 9.0.2.8?

We look forward to hear from you.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2147 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2147 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog