Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: parsing csv file (#2847)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/29/2011 12:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/29/2011 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AndrewHoeschen
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 162
Joined: 11/03/2010

It would be quite nice to have a simple action to parse csv into dataset?  It appears the only real way to do it, is to use excel?  Or maybe put a lot of effort into finding comma possitions and doing substrings?  This seems like somethign that would have a better solution?
I also saw an article on setting up a SQL connection to the CSV file using Jet, is this still a recommended process?

 Category Survey


Edited: 11/10/2011 at 08:03 AM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 07/29/2011 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Andrew,

Even if such an action were implemented as a GUI to use the Jet approach that would still be an improvement.

I will forward this suggestion to the development team.




 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation

Edited: 08/01/2011 at 09:56 AM by Rick Johnson
 05/04/2016 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rohini KawaleKawale
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/16/2015

I am using automate 9 and new to automate.

want to merge two csv files.

need help as i dnt know.how to do it?



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version: 8.0.0
Windows version: Windows 7
 05/04/2016 09:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi Rohini,

There are several ways to go about this. Below are sample steps, built using AutoMate 9, to take two csv files and merge them into a third one.

The steps use an SQL Query to create the datasets. As well as Excel actions.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 05/06/2016 12:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StigDanielsen
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/20/2009

How can I update the dataset?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version: 8.0.9
Windows version: Windows 7
 05/06/2016 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi Stig,

Updating values in the dataset within AutoMate is not possible.  The values would need to be updated outside AutoMate (in Excel for example) and then pulled back into AM.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1480 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1480 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog