Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Local Agent Offline-BadAuthenticationParameters.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/16/2011 07:15 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2011 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimLei
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 42
Joined: 07/13/2009

I have a local agent running with the BPA server, base on Win2008 STD. It showed offline. When I try to restart the Automate agent service, it has the message in the event viewer-application:

Agent authentication of 0 failed because of some reason I don't understand (Reason code = BadAuthenticationParameters

I try to redeploy the same agent again and have the same problem.



 Category Survey
 08/16/2011 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Jim,

Has this agent previously authenticated with success?
Has the machine been rebooted lately?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 08/16/2011 08:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimLei
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 42
Joined: 07/13/2009

Yes it is working until last week. And i rebooted it a few times. Thx.



 Category Survey
 08/16/2011 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Jim,

Did you migrate BPA 7 data to BPA 8 immediately before this issue arose?

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 08/16/2011 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimLei
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 42
Joined: 07/13/2009

No. The upgrade has been for a while.



 Category Survey
 08/16/2011 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Jim,

Let's try to reset the local agent. Here are some steps to accomplish this:

You will need to stop the BPA 8 Agent service on the server machine, then edit your registry with the following changes:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Network Automation\BPA Agent 8\TaskService\Agent
or (for 32-bit systems)
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Network Automation\BPA Agent 8\TaskService\Agent


Make sure the following Names and Values are defined:
AgentID = blank value.
AgentName = usually the computer name of the agent machine
Host = localhost
Port = 0x00002134 (8500)
RegistrationUsername = administrator
RegistrationPassword = password

The username and password are the default values, if you have customized the logon, please edit accordingly.

Once you have completed these registry edits, start the BPA 8 Agent service on the server machine, then start SMC up - you should now see the local agent as online.



 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 08/16/2011 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimLei
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 42
Joined: 07/13/2009

Following the instructions, I made the 2 changes on 2 registry value:

AgentID = blank value (from a string)

 AgentName = usually the computer name of the agent machine (from blank)

then the agent was back online.

 

Thanks a lot. But why this issue happended on the first place?

 



 Category Survey
 08/16/2011 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rick Johnson
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 2757
Joined: 07/14/2008

Hi Jim,

I'm not certain why this happened after everything had been configured, and the server was established and running.

This is expected to happen when migrating data from the from BPA 7 datastore to the BPA 8 datastore, and this appears to be the only report of this happening after the fact.

If you see that it has happened again in the future, we can try to examine a cause, and be aware of anything happening within in the server that may have influenced this event.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
- Rick Johnson
Network Automation
 12/02/2011 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ChadJeremiah
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/02/2011

Will this be for BPA 7 as well?



 Category Survey
 12/02/2011 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Originally posted by: ChadJeremiah

Will this be for BPA 7 as well?



This does not apply to BPA7.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/23/2012 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ThorNetland
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/23/2012

Hi,

This has just happend to me again. Last time for some months ago.

I run 8.0.1.10 version and the solution to fix this above is working ok.

I still never understand why the agent stops working, everything seems to work and then the agent simply stops.

In registry it seems to be scrambled data on the password and AgentID.

 



 Category Survey
 02/23/2012 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Originally posted by: ThorNetland

Hi,




This has just happend to me again. Last time for some months ago.




I run 8.0.1.10 version and the solution to fix this above is working ok.




I still never understand why the agent stops working, everything seems to work and then the agent simply stops.




In registry it seems to be scrambled data on the password and AgentID.




 




The registry should not show a password field unless the credentials are incorrect. If the username and password are supplied correctly, then both fields are removed upon authentication. I recommend that you update to the latest version of BPA8 v8.0.9.0 and let me know if the problem persists. We may have to schedule a remote session of further troubleshoot.





 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2130 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2130 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog