Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Increment does not like array variables (#2988)
Topic Summary: Increment says "Variable does not exist"
Created On: 09/01/2011 05:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by Leonard Amabile, on Friday, September 9, 2011 11:06 AM

Answer:
Hi John,

We have verified with our development team that this is indeed an issue. We have added it into our database to be corrected in a future revision. I apologize for the inconvenience.




 09/01/2011 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnScott
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 231
Joined: 10/27/2010

In my latest workflow I used an array to hold some tallies.  I tried to use the Increment Variable action to update them, but it throws a "Variable does not exist" error.  (See attached demo code.)  I ended up using Set Var.
Is there an intentional reason for this behavior?

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version: 8.0.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


Edited: 11/10/2011 at 08:05 AM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 09/06/2011 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi John,

We are trying to determine with our development team if this is indeed a bug. We will post a follow up as soon as possible.








 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/07/2011 07:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Answer Answer
Hi John,

We have verified with our development team that this is indeed an issue. We have added it into our database to be corrected in a future revision. I apologize for the inconvenience.






 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/14/2011 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JacobPeterson
Expert (100-199)

Posts: 104
Joined: 03/13/2011

As a temporary fix, John does this code work for you?



 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------
Production:
AutoMate BPA Server 9, version: 9.0.5.4
Windows Server Standard 2008
 04/21/2014 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnScott
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 231
Joined: 10/27/2010

I have begun testing BPA v9.0.4 on Windows 2008 R2 and am disappointed to find that this bug has not yet been fixed in the year and a half between when the bug was acknowledged in this ticket and when v9.0.4 was released.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version: 8.0.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2
 04/21/2014 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnScott
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 231
Joined: 10/27/2010

Yes, Jacob, this is a valid workaround for this bug.

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version: 8.0.1
Windows version: Windows 2003 R2
 04/21/2014 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

John,

There were multiple attempts to correct it in the v9 releases. However, it was determined that the correction was more involved than originally anticipated and needed to wait until the actions were migrated to .NET. The issue is resolved in v10.



 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1584 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1584 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog