Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Running BPA Server 8 on virtual machines
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/27/2012 02:39 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/27/2012 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

We have BPA Server 8, and have a server running Windows Server 2003 and 3 agent boxes running Windows XP SP3.  Agent version is 8.0.1.503. All of these machines are VMs, and we access them via VNC.  The response time is terrible.  There's a 2-5 second delay between hitting a key and having the machine respond.   I'm told the response time has been this bad "since day 1", so there's nothing new that would be causing this.  Any information or direction about how to troubleshoot or resolve this problem would be greatly appreciated.   I can submit a ticket if that would be a better approach.  Thanks much! Becki



 Category Survey
 02/27/2012 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Becki,

Have you verified the same performance issue outside of VNC? Are there any error messages in Event Viewer that reference BPA? Also, please check the CPU and RAM usage for the BPA processes.





 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/28/2012 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

I've been able to change some VNC configurations and make some improvements.  In case it helps someone else, I made these changes on both the client (my PC) and the server (the automate box):

1) Changed the VNC Server Properties (User-Mode) to "remove wallpaper, remove background pattern, disable UI effects'. 

2) Turned off the capture methods of 'Poll for changes' and 'capture alpha-blended windows'. 

The crux of the slow response from VNC perspective seems to be around the 'graphical' part of the Automate UI.  There weren't any events logged in Event Viewer that were related to Automate. 

I now have 2 specific response time questions that I think are Automate specific.  We leave the SMC up on the server and workstations.  Launching WFD takes about 30 seconds,  as does launching the Task builder.  Sometimes WFD is faster after the initial load so it must be cached.   The response time is the same whether I'm accessing them on the server where the repository resides, or on a workstation connected to the server.  Are there some specific things I can look at to improve the response time?  Thanks much for your help! 



 Category Survey
 02/28/2012 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Becki,

Please review the following knowledgebase article:

http://www.networkautomation.c...uilder/4d8a4c20b32e0/

Making this change may increase performance.





 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/28/2012 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Sorry, I should have mentioned in my original post that I had already taken that step.



 Category Survey
 02/28/2012 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

From reading this thread it sounds like the response time is something that we just need to live with right now. 

http://forums.networkautomation.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=42&threadid=8280&enterthread=y&STARTPAGE=1



 Category Survey
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1257 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1257 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog