Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: SMC on an agent box launches but won't connect to server
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/28/2012 10:53 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/28/2012 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

We're running BPA Server 8. I shut down the SMC on one of our 3 agent boxes and when I relaunched it, it won't connect to the server. The agent is connected and the server recognizes it.  I rebooted the agent box but that didn't resolve the problem.  There's nothing in the event viewer.  In task manager, ASMC.exe is getting CPU time.  What should I be looking at to troubleshoot and resolve this?  Thanks much!



 Category Survey
 02/28/2012 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hmm, the 2nd reboot resolved the problem.   Not sure why it took 2 reboots....  :-)



 Category Survey
 02/28/2012 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Becki,

That does seem strange. Please let us know if the problem arises again so we can troubleshoot further. By the way, what version of Windows are you running?




 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/28/2012 03:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

We're running XP SP3 on the Workstations.



 Category Survey
 02/28/2012 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

We're running Windows Server 2003 SP2 on the server.



 Category Survey
 02/29/2012 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

This happened again on 2 of the 4 Automate machines. I had to reboot them twice to get the SMC to connect to the server. 



 Category Survey
 02/29/2012 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Becki,

What version of BPA8 are you running? The latest version of BPA is v8.0.9.0. If you are running an older version, please update and let me know if the problem persists.





 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 03/01/2012 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

We are on 8.0.1.10.  We have the Check version option set to check every week.  Does it not do an auto update if it finds a newer version?



 Category Survey
 03/01/2012 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Becki,

There appears to be a problem with the update notification. The latest version is v8.0.9.0 and the download link is available in your account page and at the top of the BPA 8 forum.






 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 03/05/2012 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Thanks Leonard, I've downloaded the executable.  The only installation instructions I could find were for a new install.  Where would I find the the installation instructions for the update? This will be the 1st Automate update I've done.  Thanks much!



 Category Survey
 03/05/2012 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Becki,

You need to uninstall the current version and then install 8.0.9.0 and make sure you use the custom install and then select use existing configuration.


Leonard

 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 03/05/2012 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hi - I need a bit more information before I can get approval from our change control board to do this update. 

Why do I need to do a de-install for an incremental update that isn't a version upgrade? 

What happens to the repository if I do the de-install?

What are the back out procedures in the event of a failed update?

Where can I get the release notes that describe the changes between 8.0.1.0 and 8.0.9.0? 

We have a server and 3 workstations that need updating.  Is there a specific order the updates should be done in, such as the server 1st, then the workstations? 

Thanks so much for your assistance!



 Category Survey
 03/05/2012 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Becki,

Why do I need to do a de-install for an incremental update that isn't a version upgrade?
Automate and BPA 8 do not have an upgrade component. If you run the installer, it will prompt you to uninstall the previous version.

What happens to the repository if I do the de-install?
Uninstalling just the software will not affect the repository. The repository and user created files will not be deleted unless you explicitly tell the uninstaller to remove them.

What are the back out procedures in the event of a failed update?
If 8.0.9.0 fails in the update, you can revert back to installing v8.0.1.10 with no ill effect.

Where can I get the release notes that describe the changes between 8.0.1.0 and 8.0.9.0?
We had 2 releases since 8.0.1.10 which are:
8.0.8.0
8.0.9.0

We have a server and 3 workstations that need updating. Is there a specific order the updates should be done in, such as the server 1st, then the workstations?
I recommend that you shutdown the remote agents and update the server first. Then update each agent.







 Category Survey
AutoMate BPA Server 8 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 03/21/2012 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BeckiBloch
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 54
Joined: 12/30/2011

Hi,
I have a couple more questions before I can do this update, which is scheduled for later today. I appreciate your patience while I learn, and go thorugh the rigors of our change control board to get approvals. :-)

Is the de-install of the previous version done via Add/Remove Programs? I didn't find any other "Uninstall" program so I'm assuming so, but wanted to double check.

How do I verify the update is successful on the server before I do the update on the workstations?

Any other potential "gotchas" I should watch out for?

Thanks again for your help!

 Category Survey
 03/21/2012 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Becki and I upgraded the Agent machines together using the .exe for BPA 8.0.9. The uninstall was done from the Add/Remove programs. All Agents turned blue on the Agent machines as well as in the SMC.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1658 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1658 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog