Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sleeping PC slow to wake up?
Topic Summary: Scheduled task starts but doesn't get past first Focus step
Created On: 02/01/2013 07:43 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2013 07:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GeraldReid
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/26/2012

Hi, is there some trick to getting a scheduled task to work on a sleeping machine? I have a Task that works just fine when I kick it off manually but when I leave it to run in the middle of the night (the last two nights) it stops on a step that is requesting a Window to have Focus. The prior Wait step was run and, after the first night's failure, I increased the Focus step to retry 100 times (50 seconds)  from 10 times but it failed agan last night. The Window in both cases was displayed. What gives?

Thanks. Gerald.

 02/01/2013 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Gerald,

If the PC is in sleep mode, there is no way that AutoMate can wake the machine. Is the task configured to run in the background or log onto the machine?




-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 02/01/2013 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liz Casale
AUTOMATE EMPLOYEE

Posts: 940
Joined: 05/23/2011

Machine is actually in locked state which required User Account Control to be enabled, the Logon Properties set to Logged on User, Unlock as Specified User, and Logon as Specified User. Lastly, checked the SoftwareSAS from the Default Properties -> Default User section.

-------------------------
Liz Casale
Technical Support Representative
(213) 738-6966
Network Automation, Inc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AM5 5.5.5.1; AM6 6.2.8.0; AM7 7.1.3.0; AM8 8.0.9.0; AM9 9.0.3.4
BPA7 7.1.3.0; BPA8 8.0.9.0; BPA9 9.0.3.4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1800 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1800 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog