Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: looking for 'best practices' on migrating dev-test-prod for BPA server
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/15/2013 07:01 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/15/2013 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PeterJansens
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2013

I am looking for best practices on moving objects between disparate BPA server installations. For instance, we now have several developers building applications offline (on remote laptops) each on their own (sql server) bpa repositories.

So we are looking for the best way to merge (e.g. export/import for flows) the development efforts (especially "constants" are a challenge), and to merge the development work into the test and production environments.

I expect this has been done before (NA has been around for a while) so if anyone is willing to share some documentation on this, Thanks In Advance!

BR, Peter Jansens.

 03/15/2013 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

Peter,
I don't have any formal documentation.
But in the case you describe I think naming conventions are key.
Prefixing all constants names and workflow and task names with some prefix specific to each developer. Sort of a certificate of origin.
This way after export from local servers and import into the test server you still can easily track any object or problem to its originator, and they will not collide.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 03/18/2013 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PeterJansens
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2013

Thanks Jean (Merci beaucoup!), that certainly makes sense...

On another note, what is the best way to transfer constants between implementations? We have noted they are in both a database table in the repository _and_ in the windows registry as well....?

BR, PJ.

 

 03/19/2013 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Peter,

To transfer constants you have 3 options:

1. Uncheck all options in the migration utility (per screenshot you sent over) and press Next. This will migrate ALL system preferences between installations. However, the downside to this is that it would overwrite any existing system preferences you may have set up in the SMC.
2. You could export the Constants table from the database itself and then import the table into the new installation's database. The table is called "constants."
3. Lastly, set up the constants manually in the new installation. We know this is not preferred as you were looking for a way around this.

Let us know if this works for you.


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2011 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2011 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog