Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: API for BPA workflow execution?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/04/2014 09:09 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/04/2014 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnFarrell
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/04/2014

BPA doesn't appear to have any sort of public API to manage or execute workflows. Searching the forums led me to this post, in which the official reply suggests some sort of API was in the works, but the post is several years old now.

Is this feature still planned for a future version of BPA?

 06/04/2014 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

John as far as I know no such thing was done so far.
I'm not aware of any plans to do so.
N/A clarification is welcome.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 06/06/2014 03:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alex Escalante
HelpSystems

Posts: 871
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello John,

Can you please elaborate on your question? Are you referring to something similar to an online SMC?

-------------------------

Alex Escalante | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 06/09/2014 06:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnFarrell
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/04/2014

Alex,

Sorry, my question wasn't as clear as it could have been. I'm not looking for an online management console. I want to know if there's a way for an external application to send commands to a BPA server, in this case to execute a workflow. The possibilities that come to mind include a web service provided by the BPA server, or a public .NET library that can be used to communicate with the server.

I ask because I'd like to implement a feature in one of my company's internal applications, but the business logic is already mostly implemented in a BPA workflow. If the application could tell the BPA server to start that workflow, I could avoid a siginificant amount of development time. The catch is that I would also need to be able to determine if the workflow completes or fails.

I could have our application call the command-line executable in the BPA client install directory, but that executable only provides extremely limited feedback. It can confirm that the BPA server received a command, but gives no further information on the workflow starting, completing or failing.

The post I linked to in the OP suggests something like what I need was in the early phase of development two years ago, so I thought there might be some word on it appearing in an upcoming BPA version.

 06/10/2014 12:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

John,
you can run a workflow from an external application by invoking
"C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoMate BPA Server 9\AMExecute.exe"
To get the syntax, type
"C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoMate BPA Server 9\AMExecute.exe" help
at a command prompt.
This will run the workflow, but will return no feedback to the calling app.
You could possibly get feedback in querying the SQL BPA database.
Or (more simply) by designing your workflow so that it provides some log file that the calling app could read.

-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
 06/10/2014 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JohnFarrell
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 06/04/2014

Jean,

Thanks for the ideas. Unfortunately, I do need more feedback than the AMExecute utility can provide. I'll look into what the database has to offer, though I doubt my company's DBAs will allow the application direct access, even if it is read-only.

Adding some feedback method in the workflow itself might work... but I suspect that if it does, we'll eventually be using a lot of other workflows in the same way, which could get cumbersome.

Thanks again.

 06/10/2014 08:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JeanDelfosse
Supreme Guru (1000+)

Posts: 8883
Joined: 03/30/2005

I understand your point, John. And agree with you.
But unfortunately that does not help fulfilling your need.


-------------------------
Jean Delfosse - Automate Beta Tester
Win7 Pro 64 bits -Win XP Pro SP3 32 bits - AM8, AM7, BPA10, BPA9, BPA8, BPA7, AM6 Enterprise, AM4
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1898 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1898 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog