Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cannot access Mapped Drives
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/23/2012 07:27 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/23/2012 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EuricoLopes
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/25/2012

Running Automate 9.0.1.11 on Windows 7

 

I created a very simple task. The task solely runs a batch file which is on a network drive. When i run the task in debug mode, it runs fine. When i manually run the task from task Administrator it gives the following error...

"The system cannot find the file specified."

FYI, if i use UNC paths, it works fine... I had no problem doing this before on Version 7



 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 05/23/2012 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Eurico,

It it always recommended that you use the Full UNC path when referencing a Network Share. I would suggest that you make the adjustments to other tasks that reference a Network Share. I apologize for the inconvenience.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 08/17/2012 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MarcVallieres
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/11/2011

For us it's better to use 'Mapped Drives' because we can change the 'File server' name and always use the same mapped drive. Do you think mapped drive will come back in a future release ?

 Category Survey
 08/17/2012 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Marc,

Can you please elaborate on your question some?

You can find the "Map Drive" action in AutoMate 9 under the 'Network' folder within Task Builder.

We look forward to hear from you.

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 08/20/2012 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MarcVallieres
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/11/2011

The mapping drive has been done in the 'login Script'. The problem is the use of 'Mapped Drive' like EuricoLopes. I created a very simple task. The task solely runs a batch file which is on a network drive. When i run the task in debug mode, it runs fine. When i manually run the task from task Administrator it gives the following error...

"The system cannot find the file specified."

We need to change our tasks and use the full UAC path.

 Category Survey
 08/20/2012 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Marc,

Mapped drives are only accessible when a user is logged on. If you have your tasks running in the background then they will fail. If you absolutely need to the mapped drives instead, then I recommend changing your tasks to run as logged on user and logon or unlock the workstation.





 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 08/21/2012 08:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MarcVallieres
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/11/2011

For sure the tasks run as logged on user and logon or unlock the workstation because we simulate user interaction. In this context with mapped drive, I received this message from Automate: "The system cannot find the file specified." When I received the error, I verified with 'Windows Explorer' and the drive is available.
Do you think support for mapped drive will come back in a future release ?

 Category Survey
 08/21/2012 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Marc,

In a logged on session AM9 should be fully functional with mapped drive letters. As I stated previously, only background tasks and file triggers in a logged off session will require UNC paths. We recommend UNC paths throughout a task because it prevents confusion as to when or where a mapped drive can be used. Because the task works in Task Builder, the problem may lie somewhere else. If possible, please post your task for review.




 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/05/2014 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MattAdelhardt
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 10
Joined: 11/05/2014

I ran into the same issues with Automate 9.05 running on Windows server 2012.  I had a command to run a batch file in a mapped network folder.  It ran fine in Debug mode, but the command failed to find the mapped drive when running as a triggered task.  

I eventually solved the problem by copying the the task to a new empty task and then recreating the appropriate trigger for the new task.  It seems that something happens during the import that interferes with access to mapped drives.  I later compared the .aml files for the original task and the copied task with a compare tool.  The files were identical down to the last bit of whitespace.  So it must be something that happens during the import.

It is astounding how Leonard just ignored what you were trying to report to him.  He just refused to believe that the symptoms you were reporting were possible.  This is consistent with my experience with him and the rest of the Automate "Support" staff.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 11/05/2014 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Matt,

Are you referencing the Full UNC path in your task or the drive letter? It is recommended that you use the Full UNC path when referencing any network share.

Is the user you are logged in with the same user set to task?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 11/06/2014 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MattAdelhardt
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 10
Joined: 11/05/2014

As has been stated many times in this and other forums, batch files run in cmd processes which do not support UNC paths.  Most of us have to live with some legacy applications depending on batch files, and even many new apps run very conveniently at a command prompt.  Your product needs to reliably support running batch files at the command prompt with network drive mappings in order to be considered a serious and comprehensive solution.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 11/06/2014 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Matt,

Would it be possible to set-up a GoToAssist session where we can take a closer look at this issue? If this is possible please send an email over to AutoMate.Support@helpsystems.com with a list of your availability.

Note: Please reference this forum thread in your email.


 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 01/27/2017 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RolandHoogendijk
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/27/2017

How did this get resolved using Automate 9.05 and Windows 2012 R2? We are having the same issue!!!

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 01/30/2017 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Roland,

We never heard back from Matt with regards to the issue that he described. If you are encountering the same issue, please send an email to automate.support@helpsystems.com for further assistance. We will need to schedule a remote session.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1257 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1257 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog