Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Could Not Create Variable in Subtask
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/07/2016 12:31 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/07/2016 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KevinWood
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/12/2010

So I have a task, which creates several variables. We'll call this task 1. When I run task 1 through the debugger, it runs to completion. I create another task, we'll call this task 2. At some point, Task 2 starts Task 1 via "Start Task". Task 2 runs to completion. We create another task, we'll call this task 3. Task 3 starts task 2 via "Start Task". Task 1 then fails with a "Could not create variable" error. The variable is marked as "private", and it is not declared anywhere in task 3. Any ideas what I should be looking for? If I disable this variable declaration step, subsequent variables being declared also fail.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 09/07/2016 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Kevin,

I created 3 task files in v9:

task1
task2
task3

Task1 creates 3 variables: var1, var2 and var3. Each variable is set to private. There is also a dialog box displaying %GetTaskName()% so that I know which task is running.

Task2 has a dialog box displaying %GetTaskName()% and a Start Task step that starts task1 (managed).

Task3 has a dialog box displaying %GetTaskName()% and a Start Task step that starts task2 (managed).

I believe this is a similar scenario to what you are running and it runs successfully from Task Administrator and Task Builder. Am I missing something in your scenario?



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/07/2016 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KevinWood
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/12/2010

Found the issue. Task 1 and Task 3 both run a script file. The error disappears if I disable the script file being run from task 1. This was working in Automate 8. I'm migrating the tasks on it to Automate 9 and this seems to be an issue in 9, but not 8.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 09/07/2016 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Kevin,

What does the script do? Is the script referencing any of the created variables? It's possible what may have been working in v8 was due to a bug that has been addressed in v9 and may require some task adjustments.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 09/07/2016 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KevinWood
n00b (>6 posts)

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/12/2010

It's VBScript, which has a bunch of functions that we call in some automate steps. The calls usually return a string value, which are then set to automate variables.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2008 R2
 09/08/2016 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hi Kevin,

Would it be possible to post your tasks?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1223 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1223 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog