Network Automation Software
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Mid function capture a row
Topic Summary: mid function
Created On: 10/04/2016 05:39 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/04/2016 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ChrisSchrameck
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 23
Joined: 11/08/2012

I have a small text file 6 rows that i would like to copy into a variable then use the mid function to set each row of that dataset to a variable.  Can Mid be set to capture a row.  


 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.1
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


Edited: 10/05/2016 at 03:06 PM by AutoMate Discussion Moderator
 10/04/2016 05:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gijsberth de Ruiter
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 455
Joined: 03/30/2005

You can use the 'loop file content' action and put every line (loop) in a separate variable. This should do the trick.

 Category Survey


-------------------------
I am an A-Team Member
 10/05/2016 02:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ChrisSchrameck
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 23
Joined: 11/08/2012

That is what I am doing but I was hoping to get this

variable1 = Line 1

Variable2 = line 2   

 

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.1
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 10/06/2016 12:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gijsberth de Ruiter
Artisan (200-499)

Posts: 455
Joined: 03/30/2005

The loop action should work this way, you should only update the variable name in each loop (or use a dataset)

I added a quick example

 Category Survey



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)


-------------------------
I am an A-Team Member
Statistics
18257 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 6686 on 11/01/2020 at 01:24 AM.
There are currently 448 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 448 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog