Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: parsing emails into a dataset - works properly but first set always empty
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/31/2016 10:42 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/31/2016 10:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StuDent
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/13/2016

Hi there,

 

I have attached the code in question (ignore the contosso stuff and assume the emails and servernames are correct).

 

The issue is that the whole task performs properly, except the first set of entries, where check = 1, always shows up as empty space.

I think it might have to do with an index starting at 0 for the set.mail(totalrows)? I'm not sure. 

 

Thanks for reading.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:



Task Steps: (Right click, Select All, Copy to copy to the clipboard. Steps can then be pasted into the AutoMate Task Builder)
 10/31/2016 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi,

The loop will start with check=1.  Does %set_mail(1).Body% contain any data?

To check this, in the Task Builder, at the top of the screen, look under "Layout" and select the drop-down for "Show/Hide Window", select "Variables", right-click the dataset "set_mail" and choose "Inspect".

Perhaps change the loop to start at 2 instead of 1?



 Category Survey


-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/01/2016 06:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StuDent
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/13/2016

Yes, %set_mail(1).Body% is the large chunk of text that is getting parsed. 

 

I'll try setting the loop to start at 2 - I'm certain that the Body contains the email since the rest are parsing.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:
 11/02/2016 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi,

The task appears to be working fine here for me.  What's the exact version of AutoMate you are using (ex 9.0.5.4)?



 Category Survey


-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/03/2016 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StuDent
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/13/2016

9.0.4.5, actually. I thought it was the most updated but I misread the numbers. 



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:
 11/03/2016 08:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello,

Would it be possible to upgrade to the latest version of AutoMate 9?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
 11/10/2016 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StuDent
Student (5-19 posts)

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/13/2016

I will see if we can perform an update and then check the task again.

 

As it is, I can start the loop at check=2, but then I'll miss out on the first email every time.

 

Secondarily, when I run the task in the Task Builder, it works properly, yet when I let it run on a schedule, it has the same issue.

 

hmm, actually.. when i set it to run say 5 minutes from now, the first entry appears correctly. still trying to figure out why it doesn't work at midnight..



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


Edited: 11/10/2016 at 08:01 AM by StuDent
 11/14/2016 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Devin Cannon
HelpSystems

Posts: 398
Joined: 03/17/2016

Hi,

Is there perhaps an email being sent before midnight that is in the inbox that AutoMate is not pulling?



 Category Survey


-------------------------

Devin Cannon | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1185 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1185 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog