Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: How do I send Keystrokes to a Minimized Window
Topic Summary: (like in Auto Hot Key)
Created On: 11/29/2016 12:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/29/2016 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ErikLundstrom
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 79
Joined: 09/12/2006

How do I send Keystrokes to a Minimized Window? I do not want to focus the window as it would bring it to the front. Is that even possible with Automate?

Doing a Google search I believe it is possible with Auto Hot Key:
https://autohotkey.com/board/topic/7927-send-a-macro-to-an-inactive-window/

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows 7
 11/29/2016 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi Erik,

The send keystrokes actions will not work for a minimized window as the window does need to be focused to work properly. You may be able to use a third party application or depending on the nature of the window code the necessary keystrokes into it if it is a batch file.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/29/2016 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ErikLundstrom
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 79
Joined: 09/12/2006

Originally posted by: Justin Aucoin

Hi Erik,



The send keystrokes actions will not work for a minimized window as the window does need to be focused to work properly. You may be able to use a third party application or depending on the nature of the window code the necessary keystrokes into it if it is a batch file.

Hi Justin,
Well, it seems to work with AHK, another automation platform. Pity that Automate can't do it .

Please try to add it in a future version.


 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows 7
 11/29/2016 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leonard Amabile
HelpSystems

Posts: 5454
Joined: 05/15/2007

Hi Erik,

Are you trying to send text to a field within an application? The Web Browser and Interactivity actions have activities that can send text to specific locations with the window minimized.



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Leonard Amabile | Director, Cross Platform Support
AutoMate | InterMapper | Skybot | Divisions of HelpSystems
T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 11/29/2016 03:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ErikLundstrom
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 79
Joined: 09/12/2006

I am trying to send Ctrl-N to a minimized application (not a Browser)

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows 7
 12/02/2016 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi Erik,

In this case the window will need to be focused to send the keystrokes using AutoMate.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
 12/02/2016 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ErikLundstrom
Journeyman (50-99)

Posts: 79
Joined: 09/12/2006

Originally posted by: Justin Aucoin

Hi Erik,



In this case the window will need to be focused to send the keystrokes using AutoMate.


Yes, that is what I thought. I guess that i will need to install and use AHK for this purpose then. It would be good if this feature could be added to Automate.


 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows 7
 12/05/2016 08:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Justin Aucoin
HelpSystems

Posts: 360
Joined: 02/15/2016

Hi Erik,

We have passed on your suggestion to our developers for consideration in a future release.

 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version:
Windows version:


-------------------------

Justin Aucoin | Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700 | F: +1.213.738.7665
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 1244 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 1244 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog