Network Automation Software We are currently migrating this forum
over to our HelpSystems domain. Please
post all new threads in our new
HelpSystems Community Portal.
Post to the HelpSystems Forum
You are not currently logged on. You must be logged on in order to post. Log on
Or Create a new account
AutoMate Discussion
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Out of Memory
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/29/2017 06:28 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/29/2017 06:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RyanAmig
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 28
Joined: 01/02/2013

Every few weeks our Automate 9 Server gets "Out of Memory" errors.  When you log on to the server there are popup boxes all over the screen that say "Out of Memory" and an "OK" button to clear the box.  I have a few questions on this.

 

1.  Can we adjust the amount of memory that Automate 9 can allocate?

2.  Is there a way to find the task or tasks that are causing the "Out of Memory".

 



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 03/30/2017 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MatthewMarinke
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 36
Joined: 09/01/2010

What exactly is reporting "out of memory" error? Is it AutoMate, an app on the server, or Windows itself?

If the server is virtual, you might be able to check the logs to see the memory usage over time and check if it's spiking at certain days/times.

You could create an hourly task that logs memory usage of certain processes like AMEM.exe, AMTS.exe, AMTA.exe, custom apps on the server, etc. and see if something is consuming all the memory.

 Category Survey
 03/30/2017 08:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RyanAmig
Apprentice (20-49)

Posts: 28
Joined: 01/02/2013

It's the Automate application itself that is running out of memory. 



 Category Survey
AutoMate 9 version: 9.0.5
Windows version: Windows Server 2012 R2
 03/31/2017 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricardo Castaneda
HelpSystems

Posts: 3424
Joined: 01/11/2008

Hello Ryan,

Can you post your machine specs?

How many tasks are running at any given time (simultaneously)?

 Category Survey


-------------------------

Ricardo Castaneda | Principal Support Analyst
AutoMate | Division of HelpSystems
HelpSystems, LLC | T: +1.213.738.1700
Statistics
18258 users are registered to the AutoMate Discussion forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 5551 on 01/08/2018 at 11:11 AM.
There are currently 2106 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 2106 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Enterprise Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

Sitemap Network Automation Software Blog